Pc boots up but no input - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2009, 10:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Matamoras,Pa
Posts: 20
Default Pc boots up but no input

The Pc turns on All fans spin. Led lights kick on but no signal to the monitor the monitor works fine with the other pcs I tried it on. The ram is still good. The light on the vid card lights green up green. no post beeps. Tried taking the video card out and using onboard still nothing. The computer has booted up before. It not working is a recent problem. I think it might be the motherboard but hoping not due to the unseating the processor to rma it.

Specs
XCLIO A380BK Fully Black SECC 1.0mm thickness ATX Full Tower Computer Case
BIOSTAR TFORCE TA790GX A2+ AM2+/AM2 AMD 790GX HDMI ATX AMD Motherboard
Amd Phenom x4 9950 black edition 125w processor
Corsair Xms series 4GB (2x 2GB) ddr2 ram
Western Digital 400GB Hdd Sata2
XFX PVT98WYDFH GeForce 9800 GTX+ 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card
coolmax cuq-1200b psu
windows xp sp2
__________________

rbloomer is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 10:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Pc boots up but no input

I thought you mentioned in your other thread it was a PSU related problem?

If you have a Multimeter, test out each rail on the PSU using it.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 10:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Matamoras,Pa
Posts: 20
Default Re: Pc boots up but no input

I thought it was at first but, I don't think it is now, because I didnt think it had the right cpu pin but it does, I checked it under the specs on newegg. I have it hooked up right and now im thinking mobo/vid card is the only thing i can think off.
rbloomer is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 10:19 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Pc boots up but no input

Driverheaven Guides: testing your psu with a multimeter Nice instructions on how to test with a multimeter.

Have you reset cmos?
tried to boot with just one stick of ram?
rechecked all psu connections?
striped computer to just psu, mb, ram, gpu and cpu?
tried a different gpu?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 10:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Matamoras,Pa
Posts: 20
Default Re: Pc boots up but no input

Have you reset cmos?
yes
tried to boot with just one stick of ram?
yes, also seated the ram into another pc ram is fine
rechecked all psu connections?
yes ill check again tho
striped computer to just psu, mb, ram, gpu and cpu?
no ill try to unhook my fans
tried a different gpu?
no other gpu
rbloomer is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 10:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Pc boots up but no input

unhook cd drives and hard drives as well. You could also try to boot with the mb outside of the case.

try your gpu in another computer if possible.
boot without any ram to see if the mb beeps at you.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 10:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Matamoras,Pa
Posts: 20
Default Re: Pc boots up but no input

everything is hooked up right, took out ram no post beep
rbloomer is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 10:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Pc boots up but no input

Just double check to see if there is an 8-pin connector on your board or a Molex that you need to plug in.. otherwise it won't work at all.. and it'll look like it shorted.
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 10:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Matamoras,Pa
Posts: 20
Default Re: Pc boots up but no input

i have a 4 pin connector to the mb and the 4 pin molex also both plugged in, but with my gpu still seated and no ram would it not beep cus of the 512mb gddr3 ram on the vid card?
rbloomer is offline  
Old 07-31-2009, 10:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Pc boots up but no input

no it should freak out with no ram seated. If it does not that is a problem. Are you sure the motherboard speaker is functional?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dasher Offers An Alternative Text Input Method Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 07-27-2009 09:00 AM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM
Video Input donaldj Microsoft Windows and Software 0 09-05-2007 05:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.