partition problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2005, 05:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default partition problem

hi i had partitioned my hard drive so it starts up with a prompt screen askin u to select linux prompt or go into windows. i accidently deleted the partition from windows.

now when i switch the p.c on. i get a blank screen with a linux terminal grub> and my windows wont even log on now.. how can i over come this without loosing my files on windows?? please help as this is the first time ive come to this problem
__________________

ik097 is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

You deleted the Windows partition?
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

no i deleted the linux partition whilst i was in windows
ik097 is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

Grub aint easy to get rid of without reformatting, maybe a post in the linux forum would help.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Ok. Do you have a Windows XP install CD?
Boot from that CD. When prompted press R to enter recovery console.
Select your Windows installation (usually just type 1, then <enter>)
Enter password if needed.
type: BootCFG /Rebuild
type exit and reboot
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 19
Default

thanks all ill try that asap.. thank you
ik097 is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 05:56 AM   #7 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Also enter the FIXBOOT command before exiting recovery console. I think that one will overwrite the Grub boot program.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 06:59 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

fixboot should do that. just use a partition manager to switch the active partition to windows. that should boot windows. i'm thinking the problem here is that grub is f'd up but it's still set to the boot manager partition. so setting to your windows partition should fix it
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 03:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

I plan to get rid of grub this is the advice I was given try it :

http://techist.com/showthread.php?threadid=80978
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 04:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Yeah, also try fixmbr.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.