Packet Loss; Can't Fix! - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-09-2015, 03:56 PM   #31 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Open up Device Manager
On your network adapter, do the following:
Right click -> Properties -> Details tab
Post the following info for each item that has a yellow exclamation mark:
Under "Hardware Ids" in the dropdown, it should have something like VEN_####&DEV#### ; post that section, where #### = some alphanumeric combination.


Here are two screen captures. The first is what you asked for, but I'm not using that adapter. The second is my AE3000 wireless adapter which I am using.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture1.PNG (35.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png Capture2.PNG (33.6 KB, 0 views)
__________________

croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 05:06 PM   #32 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Quote:
Originally Posted by -RockMan- View Post
I really don't know look over crossedup posts in here and then read the latest one.
Also if it is wireless why don't you ask him to test the wireless nic elsewhere to rule it out ?
Which still confuses me why you would suggest just replacing the router rather than suggesting to test the adapter on another machine (which is a legit suggestion), or replacing the wifi adapter first .

Quote:
Originally Posted by croSSeduP View Post
"Curious, but why do you think it's the router?"

I'm wondering the same thing since I can hook directly into the router and there is no issues - my other two rigs are hooked into the router; my kids use those machines and are constantly playing online. None of them have complained about lag during game play.
Sounds to me like it's most likely an issue with the wifi adapter then - do as suggested and test it on another system in your house to see if that system has similar issues. If the other system does...then I'd say it's an issue with the wifi adapter and you should replace it.

Have you looked into Powerline adapters by chance? That way you would get the reliability of wired, but the distance of wireless essentially.

Quote:
Originally Posted by croSSeduP View Post
Open up Device Manager
On your network adapter, do the following:
Right click -> Properties -> Details tab
Post the following info for each item that has a yellow exclamation mark:
Under "Hardware Ids" in the dropdown, it should have something like VEN_####&DEV#### ; post that section, where #### = some alphanumeric combination.


Here are two screen captures. The first is what you asked for, but I'm not using that adapter. The second is my AE3000 wireless adapter which I am using.
Don't really need them now since you said it works fine over wired (no issues/packet loss) and I realized you already posted the model # of your wifi adapter.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 06:25 PM   #33 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Powerline adapter... Just ordered this from Newegg. BUT, if there's a prob with my wireless adapter it still might show up as a problem even with the extra boost of the Powerline.
croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 06:30 PM   #34 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Quote:
Originally Posted by croSSeduP View Post
Powerline adapter... Just ordered this from Newegg. BUT, if there's a prob with my wireless adapter it still might show up as a problem even with the extra boost of the Powerline.
The powerline adapter uses ethernet - so your wireless adapter wouldn't be used if you are planning on using powerline adapters.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 07:15 PM   #35 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
The powerline adapter uses ethernet - so your wireless adapter wouldn't be used if you are planning on using powerline adapters.
If I hook directly into the adapter. I'd like to boost my wireless signal throughout my house so that streaming movies from Vudu/Netflix, etc., has better performance. If I plug my rig directly into the adapter, the adapter will be on the other end of the house from my TV and I don't think wireless performance will be improved.
croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 07:19 PM   #36 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

So you're planning on plugging another router or access point into the powerline adapter, and continue running your system off of wifi? If your wireless adapter is the problem (like we think it is), then doing that will just put you right back at square 1 because you're still using the wifi adapter.

The reason I suggested the powerline adapter was so you could plug directly into the powerline adapter with your rig via ethernet.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 02:22 AM   #37 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
So you're planning on plugging another router or access point into the powerline adapter, and continue running your system off of wifi? If your wireless adapter is the problem (like we think it is), then doing that will just put you right back at square 1 because you're still using the wifi adapter.

The reason I suggested the powerline adapter was so you could plug directly into the powerline adapter with your rig via ethernet.
That's probably what I'll do; plug directly into the powerline adapt., it's just doing that won't help my home entertainment streaming. That's another reason I was looking at a possible different wireless adapter, one that works right. However, I haven't completely determined what is wrong with my present wireless adapter. More work to be done when time permits...
croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 02:52 AM   #38 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,505
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

If your other peripherals are running wireless and can be hooked to ethernet, you can always buy additional powerline adapters and you'll be able to just plug directly into them.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 02:45 PM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Could still be the router, the radio on the router, while on the same circuit board is an entirely separate component with it's own processing logic. But at this point, buying a different wireless adapter may help....

Things that can cause data loss on Wifi...
- Too many wireless devices, wifi is a one-way communications system, two devices can't talk at the same time, if they do, you get collisions, which is data loss.
- Nearby neighbor is using the same channel as you are for your 2.5Ghz or 5.0Ghz network, thus causing interference, and dropped data.
-Other devices in most homes will use the 2.4Ghz spectrum, such as cordless phones, and wireless keyboards/mice.

To fully rule the router out, you need to be able to do tests with either a different NIC, or different PC with any and all other 2.4 and 5.0 devices disabled during the test. If you get no loss, your router is most likely in good shape.

But chances are, it is the wireless adapter causing the loss.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100% packet loss NN84 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 05-31-2006 06:06 PM
100% packet loss NN84 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 05-31-2006 03:56 PM
NETGEAR DG834G Router - Packet Loss on wireless? Sephz0r Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 01-05-2006 12:34 PM
Two switch packet loss Obtruse_Man4 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 10-17-2005 06:07 PM
Network ping packet loss kenkam Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 11-12-2004 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.