Packet Loss; Can't Fix! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2015, 10:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Find their address, put it into the magical box, and click on Start, let it run for awhile, probably 10-20 minutes. If you get errors, make sure you run it as Administrator, or google the error.
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 10:43 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Ran WinMTR... Don't know what the numbers mean; don't know what I'm looking at /for.
__________________

croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2015, 11:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

....could you give us a screenshot of what it's showing?
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 12:22 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

See the attachment.
Attached Images
File Type: png Capture.PNG (63.0 KB, 6 views)
croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 09:22 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

... you have loss at every single hop, looks like it's your router, or wireless card... Both have the latest firmware/software? If so, try relocating, or changing the wifi channel your on, might help. Hop#7 doesn't look too healthy either...
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 09:56 AM   #16 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
... you have loss at every single hop, looks like it's your router, or wireless card... Both have the latest firmware/software? If so, try relocating, or changing the wifi channel your on, might help. Hop#7 doesn't look too healthy either...
Guess all my previous suggests are still relevant then .

Quote:
Originally Posted by carnageX View Post
[How to update drivers]
Open up Device manager, expand Network Devices, check the brand/model of both ethernet and wireless network cards. Go to the brand manufacturers' websites, download/install the latest drivers from their sites.

[using wireless]
Tried wired?

[Router = RT-N66u]
Tried updating the firmware?



Eh? How is it not possible? Run ethernet cable from PC directly to modem and see if you still have packet loss issues. If not, then issue lies with the router. If so, then it's either the modem or something with your PC.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 10:12 AM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Yet op seems to not wanna even try, hence the reason I suggested WinMTR to see where it starts. In the end, if OP doesn't wanna do anything, then might as well give up, can't hold his hands, I do that enough for other people that complain about something not working.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 10:20 AM   #18 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
Yet op seems to not wanna even try, hence the reason I suggested WinMTR to see where it starts. In the end, if OP doesn't wanna do anything, then might as well give up, can't hold his hands, I do that enough for other people that complain about something not working.
I hear ya man... Was reposting that as a reminder to OP to try the basic things that were suggested already. But like you said...if he doesn't wanna try, then we can't really help.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 11:42 AM   #19 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Whoa, wait a sec... I AM trying. That's why I posted the screenshot - after spending perhaps 45 minutes trying to figure out how to do that. E.g., I didn't know W7 had a thing called "snipping tool". You see, there's a lot of stuff re. computers that I simply don't know about. Someone said something about "trying basic things". They might be basic to you, but I've never had this problem before so I'm delving into something I've not done before. I've done the suggestions you've all made the best I can so far, but I have other things going on in my life besides a computer problem, ya know? I guess the next step is moving my computer tower to another location so I can actually hook directly into the modem and/or router. Again, if you knew how my house was set-up you'd understand that that is a pretty big undertaking. Nonetheless, I will do it any way.

I don't know how to update firmware. I've visited the website for my network cards... As far as I can tell they have the latest drivers. Next is Googling how to update firmware on one's router.

Seriously guys, I am trying, but there's other "stuff" going on so I can only work on this problem at certain times. Thanks.
croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2015, 12:03 PM   #20 (permalink)
True Techie
 
croSSeduP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Washington State
Posts: 146
Default Re: Packet Loss; Can't Fix!

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive View Post
... you have loss at every single hop, looks like it's your router, or wireless card... Both have the latest firmware/software? If so, try relocating, or changing the wifi channel your on, might help. Hop#7 doesn't look too healthy either...
Thank you. As I said, I'll search out how to update firmware/software and see if I find anything that helps.
Changing wifi channel... Something I'll have to look into how to do.
As far as relocating... This simply is not possible. My computer must be where it is. I've tried setting up so that there is a relatively straight shot from my router to my wireless card w/o any obstacles. If that isn't good enough the only other option is to run a long network cable along my ceiling, etc. My wife won't allow it. I've had different types of connection issues in the past and I've been through at least 3 different routers and a couple of wireless network cards trying to find something that actually works. I spent a good deal of money on my present router. A waste of money? I guess time will tell as I delve into it more.
__________________

croSSeduP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100% packet loss NN84 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 8 05-31-2006 06:06 PM
100% packet loss NN84 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 05-31-2006 03:56 PM
NETGEAR DG834G Router - Packet Loss on wireless? Sephz0r Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 01-05-2006 12:34 PM
Two switch packet loss Obtruse_Man4 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 10-17-2005 06:07 PM
Network ping packet loss kenkam Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 11-12-2004 09:08 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.