P965 motherboard installation help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-13-2007, 03:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default P965 motherboard installation help!

Motherboard: p965 Neo
Cpu: Intel 2core e6600
Video Card: nVidia GeForce 7800 GT
Memory: 2x Twin Corsair 512 DDRII (1 Gb total)
Hard drives: Maxtor 40 gb and Western Digital 120 Gb attached through ide cable (slave and master jumpers are set up accordingly)

This is the third motherboard I have installed and the one that has given me the most trouble installing. On my hard drives I have a previously installed OS (windows XP service pack 2) and my slave drive contains my backup information. I have a dvdrw drive attached through the SATA cable. All components are receiving power and are connected correctly. When starting up the computer, I receive the following error "PXE-E61: media test failure, check cable". It prompts me to insert my system disk, which is my Windows XP installation disc. I begin the setup of windows (even though I have it previously installed) and upon reaching the message on the lower left "setup is starting windows" I receive a blue screen error "Stop: 0x000007B (0xF7CB663C, 0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)
In my bios I made sure that I have IDE activated and everything is loaded to optimal defaults. I contacted the MSI online service (which was less than helpful) and they told me to install the J-micron drivers. I did my best to(still not entirely sure if I correctly did it) so if you may think that is the issue, could you please give me information on how to do it? I am not sure what is causing these problems and would appreciate any help possible.
__________________

joffo33 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 04:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

you cant boot from the hard drive with the OS from a previous install from different hardware. you are most likely failing the HAL. which directly prevents the exact thing you are trying to do.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

I understand that, so when trying to reinstall my OS (using my windows xp disc) I receive the blue screen error as previously mentioned. Am I going about the re installation all wrong?
joffo33 is offline  
Old 01-13-2007, 06:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

that stop error from what i can tell is related to the boot device. try using a different hard drive, maybe cable or ide slot or sata slot and try the install again.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.