p6633w cpu upgrade to AMD Phenom II x4 Incompatible? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2015, 11:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default p6633w cpu upgrade to AMD Phenom II x4 Incompatible?

After many attempts at buying a new computer, I figured I would take the cheaper route. Being a teenager with moderate knowledge in computer tech I figured I could take the challenge on by myself.
I purchased myself an, AMD Phenom II X4 965 AM3 3.4Ghz 512KB 45NM 125W 4000MHZ, after looking at many cpus. I am currently running an AMD Athalon II X2 255 processor at 3.1GHz on a p6633w mobo. After installing the phenemon and booting up my computer I am immediately prompted with "CPU incompatible, system will shut down in a few seconds" or something very close to that. After many retrys, uninstalls of the processor and re-installations it is still to no avail.
Whats going on? I'm almost positive that theyre normally compatible. Why can I use the Athalon II but not the Phenemon II?

Any response or suggestion would help immensely. Thank you
Josh.
__________________

JWaynick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 11:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: p6633w cpu upgrade to AMD Phenom II x4 Incompatible?

According to this it should be compatible:
HP and Compaq Desktop PCs - Motherboard Specifications, N-Alvorix-RS880-uATX (Alvorix) | HP®*Support

Have you tried reinstalling the old CPU, update the BIOS, and then install the new CPU?
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2015, 11:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: p6633w cpu upgrade to AMD Phenom II x4 Incompatible?

I haven't tried updating bios, could that be a fix?
JWaynick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 12:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: p6633w cpu upgrade to AMD Phenom II x4 Incompatible?

...and how would i update the bios? Where do I go?
JWaynick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 12:43 AM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: p6633w cpu upgrade to AMD Phenom II x4 Incompatible?

You'd have to check HP's site for a possible BIOS update.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 12:52 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Default Re: p6633w cpu upgrade to AMD Phenom II x4 Incompatible?

Bios is up to date, any other possibilities?
JWaynick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 01:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: p6633w cpu upgrade to AMD Phenom II x4 Incompatible?

That motherboard will not support the 965BE... HP lists that the motherboard IS compatible with 9XX quad core processors, but the MAXIMUM TDP allowed is 95w.

From what little I can find, the highest end CPU that board *MIGHT* support is an AMD Phenom II X4 960 Deneb (is NOT compatible with the Zosma core), or if you are VERY lucky, an X6 1065T... Both of those CPU's are at the maximum TDP for that board and the highest end of the bunch for that TDP.

x4 960 = 95w
x4 965BE = 140w or 125w depending on stepping
x6 1065T = 95w

Any time you buy an AMD cpu like those, you need to ensure your board can handle the TDP, like the 955... That 955 has FIVE different revisions, ranging in wattages of 95/120, most common being 120...

I would say the BIOS and board certainly recognizes it, but HP has locked it to prevent damage to the board trying to push the current needed, as it will blow out the mosfets. To top it off, thaat board has no cooling at all on the mosfets... The 965BE would cook it, boards have enough issues trying to supply power when the mosfets ARE cooled by a passive heatsink... My 965BE has cooked 3 boards in it's life-time, all mosfet failures.

EDIT: Also, yes, I am aware that TDP isn't the power flowing through the mosfets, and that it is the heat generated by the CPU alone, but that extra heat does cook things up nicely on boards designed for lower TDP CPU's.

OP: I suggest putting the 965 up for sale if possible, it's obviously a good chip and can still be sold off, should be able to recover your costs easily. Then look into getting a CPU with lower TDP.
c0rr0sive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2015, 04:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cb600fshornet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: England, Birmingham
Posts: 361
Default Re: p6633w cpu upgrade to AMD Phenom II x4 Incompatible?

I agree with c0rr0sive, it looks like you sadly can't use that CPU with the board. If you're on the latest BIOS version and it still won't support it, then you're stuffed to be honest.

That's sound advice above really, sell the chip and get one based on a lower TDP.
__________________

cb600fshornet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd athalon, amd phenemon, p6633w, suggestions

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom II x4 + 2GB Ram or Phenom II x3 + 4GB Ram? djzikario New Systems | Building and Buying 11 07-25-2010 11:43 PM
Phenom II X3 -> Phenom II X4 Yami Off Topic Discussion 17 03-03-2009 06:04 PM
AMD Phenom & Spider vs Intel QX9770 (What a joke AMD is) Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 88 12-20-2007 10:40 PM
AMD Rumoured to Unveil AMD Phenom X3 with Three Cores maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-22-2007 12:25 AM
Why are AMD processors incompatible with 533 and 667 mhz RAM? patrickc284 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 07-27-2006 12:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.