P4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-18-2006, 08:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default P4

I am getting a new mobo but i have i P4 and the cpu type of the new mobo is:Intel Pentium 4 Prescott.

What is the Prescott?

I sure worry about it or doesn t mean anything for me ...?
__________________

Rogerio is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 08:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Prescott is the core, or it's like Pentium 4 is the car company, and Prescott is the model lol
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

so i dont have to worry in get a mobo if i have P4
Rogerio is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 08:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

AGP Slots: 1x AGP 4X/8X
CPU Type: Intel Pentium 4 Prescott/Celeron D
DDR Standard: DDR 400 (PC 3200)
Dual Channel Supported: Yes
FSB: 800/533MHz
Maximum Memory Supported: 4GB
Number of DDR Slots: 4x 184pin DDR
PCI Express x16: None
South Bridge: Intel ICH5
Supported CPU Technologies: Hyper-Threading Technolog


I have cpu P4, so...do i have any problem if i buy this mobo?
Rogerio is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 08:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Just make sure it's the same socket as your current P4 processor.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:43 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

that is the new mobo:

ASUS P5P800 SE Socket T (LGA 775) Intel 865PE ATX Intel Motherboard

and my old one is :

ECS P4M800-M7 (V1.0)
Socket 775 for Intel Pentium 4 processor
Support the Intel Pentium 4 HT Processor 800MHz FSB and DDR400
High-quality 6-channel audio brings a more vivid sound experience
Support SATA allows you to join several hard drives and increase data transfer by separating data (RAID 0) or by keeping 100% secure data duplication (RAID 1).

do you believe tha i ll be alright?
Rogerio is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

Yup, and most likely your ram will work but you never know Just make sure it's the same type, DDR - DDR2 and the same speed 3200, 4200, etc.
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 08-18-2006, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 164
Default

yes, everything is the same...
Hey, thank you very much for your help....
Really great for me
__________________

Rogerio is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.