OverHeating - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2009, 03:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default OverHeating

I just got my new computer parts.But after building my new pc (not my first time).I got this problem.Overheating.not a normal one.the CPU hits 100+C in few seconds along with the motherboard which hits around 50-55.I've tried touching the VGA heatsink and it was pretty hot as well.Everything is set as stock.No Oc-ing at all yet.

I've rechecked all power cables,Reinstalled the heatsink,reapplied thermal paste.But nothing is working.My case has 3 120mm fans 2 80mm fans.CPU fan gets to 7000+ RPM and still nothing is working. And of course there is no way to try any software since the pc would shut down before getting into the OS.So any help/ideas of what should I do?

Thanks.

MB:MSI 790FX-GD70
CPU: Phenom x4 965
RAM:4GB OCZ 1600 platinum
PS:Corsair 750W
VGA:Sapphire 4890
__________________

E-Joker is offline  
Old 09-12-2009, 04:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
BonzNumber1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 77
Default Re: OverHeating

my best guess would be a bad processor the board heating up is a little odd to but mine get's up to around that temp (not as fast though) you have any other computers in the house that you could do some part swaping with (like the processor)
__________________

BonzNumber1 is offline  
Old 09-12-2009, 04:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: OverHeating

I wish I had some.But I have none right now not untill 2 weeks. and I can't wait that long.
another note I just noticed that Pout is increasing as well. around 70W at the begining and keep increasing to 100 before I truned it off.
E-Joker is offline  
Old 09-12-2009, 04:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
BonzNumber1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Regina, SK, Canada
Posts: 77
Default Re: OverHeating

there's only really 3 things it can be and none of them will help you solve this 1 is power over/under powering can cause heat issues processor is hooped or the mobo is hooped neither is a good thing... did you get the parts from a place in town or online?
BonzNumber1 is offline  
Old 09-13-2009, 02:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default

Now here is the problem.I got them online from amazon through aramex to Qatar,which is really far.And sending back any of these part "RMA" going to cost me the price of a new one.That's the reason I'm desperate to find any other solutions.

So any help here? I really need some.
E-Joker is offline  
Old 09-13-2009, 03:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: OverHeating

How'd you apply the paste? coating? pea/rice dab? straight short line?

Can you get into your bios long enough to check the Vcore setting?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 07:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: OverHeating

Straight short line.
Ya.I guess I can manage to do that.What should I change?
E-Joker is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 09:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OverHeating

How thick of a line. Is the heatsink itself pretty hot? IF the heatsink seems to be fairly cool, it might not be transferring heat from the chip properly.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 10:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 10
Default Re: OverHeating

Ya .The heatsink gets pretty hot.Any clues?
E-Joker is offline  
Old 09-14-2009, 11:38 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: OverHeating

Yha check your Vcore in the BIOS... could be that the board has a bad default Vcore setting thats way too high...
I'm not sure what asn AMD vcore shoud be though.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacBook Pro Overheating GeForce 9600M Issues Osiris Apple and Mac 0 03-09-2009 11:33 AM
Worm Disables CPU Fan, Causes Overheating Osiris Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 02-26-2009 01:51 PM
new computer overheating jokka37 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 05-23-2008 02:36 AM
Overheating problem Decipherr Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-16-2007 11:25 PM
Processor overheating hammad76 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 14 05-25-2007 09:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.