overclock damage - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2006, 03:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Thumbs up overclock damage

ive had my computer running at a stable overclock for some time now. I decided to crank it up a few more notches butthen i started getting problems. The main one is that when im running big applications like battlefield 2, the computer locks up and i have to hard resset to get it back to normal. What would i have damaged to make it do this....could it be ram? appreciate the response as i can no longer play any games peace out.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 04:48 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

doesn't sound like any damage to me if i am right in assuming you have not downclocked it since you:

Quote:
decided to crank it up a few more notches
if i'm right then take it back to stock speed. if it is back at stock speed and hasn't been for very long it is also possible that it is overheating. i find that after i do suicide benchmarks (high overclocks for the sake of my e-p3nis ) i may get instability even back at stock speeds for as much as a few hours........especially on high ram overclocks.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 08:47 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

if your CPU is unstable from the overclock, it will cause lock ups and other stuff. Go back to stock as it's just safe.

I'll tell you one thing:
My CPU (P4 3.00GHZ) Was OCed to 3.87GHZ...and tried to aim 4. The BIOS locked up and wouldn't reboot. I thought I blew it. Nope, it was the BIOS, but that was a scare

Back at stock speed is good choice.

And, I think this is in the wrong section. There's an overclocking lounge here, I believe.
__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 08:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

yes there is, but since uve already posted and been awnsered here, just go head and keep it here ^_^(unless mod says otherwize) but if it locks up at full max, try and shoot for 3.65-3.7
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 04:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well........any results or new symptoms mate?

i think this is alright to stay in the HW Troubleshooting seeing as it is actually hardware troubleshooting more than overclocking. in future though you should probably post anything with the word overclocking in the overclocking section though
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-16-2006, 06:05 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to neodude112320 Send a message via Yahoo to neodude112320
Default

I am a scaredy cat i wont overclock my cpu,by the way Lhuser your from cforums.org!
neodude112320 is offline  
Old 09-17-2006, 02:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Portsmouth, UK
Posts: 153
Default

sorry for a late reply, i have returned to stock now. but im still getting the same problems. what can i try and do? would flashing with new bios be a good idea?
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom 9550 Quad-Core
6GB OCZ Platinum PC2-6400
Asus M2N32-SLI PREMIUM
Nvidia 9800GTX+
Nvidia 9800GTX+
duncan9562 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.