Output to TV problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2008, 02:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Output to TV problems

I know quite a few of you guys have this, and I've been having some trouble with it. I use a video cable from my NVidia 8600gt to output to my Toshiba TV. The NVidia control panel shows the TV, and whatever changes I make (Contrast, brightness, etc) show on the TV. When I right click a movie and select "Play on my - TV" it plays the movie on my moniter, and not my TV.

I know it's not a connection problem, and I updated my drivers. Any tips?

The cable looks like This

I also have one that looks like This

Which should I use?

When I use the second one, I get no picture, just gray on the TV (and instead of saying "Play on my - TV" it says "Play on my - HDTV".

Edit: Fixed! I had it running dual moniter, needed clone.

The only problem I have now, is in the lower right of the TV screen, it's tinted kind of purple. What causes this? (It's not normally like this)

Thorn is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 06:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
FlashDude's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default Re: Output to TV problems

I take it you are using a standard def tv. The red/green/blue is HD and it won't work for you. If your card has an S-Video cable it would look a lot better. Are you sure you don't have a speaker to close to the tv? That could be causing the purple area. If so you need to move the speaker asap.

FlashDude is offline  
Old 11-30-2008, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: Output to TV problems

Yup, I had it sitting on top of a stack. Would that actually hurt the TV, or just mess with it while it's there?

And thanks.
Thorn is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 12:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Output to TV problems

Yes it can damage the TV and make it stay that way, best not to keep powerful magnets close to CRT's.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-04-2008, 08:43 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 324
Default Re: Output to TV problems

Thorn is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP! Battlefield 2 Crashes when entering Singleplayer,Multiplayer, and Audio Options Grayman PC Gaming 7 03-17-2009 01:26 AM
A whole boatload of problems, please help :( Neodr31 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 09-18-2008 09:32 AM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 12:37 AM
AVG Free problems,, TomW Viruses, Spyware and Malware 4 05-08-2007 08:08 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.