Opereating system not found, help fix plz! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2007, 04:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Default Opereating system not found, help fix plz!

Well i have a gateway 2000 solo model no: SOLO 2100. OK what my problem is im having hard drive problems. About 4 years ago i pulled out the hd with out fulling turning off the laptop. and well it hasnt been working ever sense. And what i want to know is can this be easly fixed? could i possibly get a faster cpu, more ram? for this model im not an expert on laptops so i don't know whats the most i can do to this kind of laptop. oh one more thing, are all laptop hard drives like the one i have in this laptop 2.5"? Thanks
__________________

nitrofreak06 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Opereating system not found, help fix plz!

You probably going to have to reformat and reinstall Windows. Also, older laptops can have their CPUs changed. You could try to upgrade the ram but its better to save and buy a new computer.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 04:32 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Opereating system not found, help fix plz!

ok, so i can still get this 'ole computer working again? casue i while back some one said that i ruined it. could you give me a link or something to reformat it again? oh yeah i only have a floppy drive on it.
nitrofreak06 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 05:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 506
Default Re: Opereating system not found, help fix plz!

Most of the hard drives they sell at new egg are 2.5 inches, as for you're pc i really wouldn't spend more than 50 bucks on it. Just save up for a couple of months for a new one, if it only has a floppy drive and you dot have a copy of w/e windows you're running its going to be a money pit.
wolfeyes89 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 05:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default Re: Opereating system not found, help fix plz!

Dude throw that thing in the trash!! What is it a 100mhz p1?
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Opereating system not found, help fix plz!

133mhz to be exact lol, any way i can't get the bios to find the dang hard drive any ways. guess i fried it =p oh well. maybe i can do something with the parts lol
nitrofreak06 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 09:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Opereating system not found, help fix plz!

send me the hard drive...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-12-2007, 11:44 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Opereating system not found, help fix plz!

Go into your bios if you can and set the bios back to defaults.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issue with BF2 on my E510 dykzeulb PC Gaming 8 10-21-2007 04:26 PM
Operating system not found 98smithg Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-21-2007 05:02 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
User Locked Out of Account....Its Weird Though.... qbbraveheart Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 05-07-2007 09:58 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.