open nat type!!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2011, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: (330) oHIGHo.
Posts: 3
Angry open nat type!!!!

i play xbox pretty often but im constantly getting booted b/c ive got a moderate nat type....

ive got RoadRunner Turbo and a Lynksys E2000 router

ive got a "newer" xbox wireless adapter and for the life of me i cant get this **** to work right.......

ive tried portforwarding, dmz, and upnp....
ive tried them individually, simultaneous... and every combo i can think of.

ive made sure i forwarded ALLLLLLLL the ports that ive been able to find on the web.

cheers to whom ever can help!
__________________

whodat is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 08:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I would say that it is due to your router. I have road runner as well and I have no issue gaming with my Xbox at all. I use a D-Link router and I have yet to be kicked from any game.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 10:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: (330) oHIGHo.
Posts: 3
Default Re: open nat type!!!!

im sure it has something to do with it being connected "wirelessly" but im convinced that there has to be a way to make it work.........

or at least improve upon.
whodat is offline  
Old 08-06-2011, 11:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

I am connected wirelessly with my Xbox to my router using the N adapter. It works perfectly fine for me while gaming, streaming media from my PC and watching Netflix. It is for that reason I said the router has to be the bind. Cause it does work and I didn't have to go through anything like you did. I just plugged in my adapter, searched for my network, typed in my password and away I went. No port forwarding, no nothing. It just worked
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
List of open ports / use existing open port? Crofalcon Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 09-20-2010 12:05 PM
Changing NAT type to open Druid Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 5 05-15-2009 09:24 AM
Excel error: Hyperlink unable to open. No program is registered to open this file LightingBird Microsoft Windows and Software 2 11-21-2008 05:52 PM
ok, I have some photos but PS cant open them, unknown file type stangeroo Web Graphics and Design 7 10-26-2004 12:05 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.