OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2007, 09:16 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: "Skook", PA, USA
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to imconfused Send a message via AIM to imconfused Send a message via MSN to imconfused Send a message via Yahoo to imconfused
Default OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset!

i was removing the processor from my mobo last night and i guess there was excess thermal paste that got onto the clasp for the chipset and it shut. when i looked at the chipset i noticed there were specs of thermal paste between the connections in the chipset...what should i do? will it be ok when i turn it on again? should i try to clean it out? i thought maybe i should attempt to get it out last night so i used a straight razor to try and scrape some of it up but i stopped after a short while because i wanted some opinions before i continued. what should i do?
__________________

__________________
SYSTEM SPECS:

- Intel D945GCPE Socket 775 Mobo
- Intel Pentium D 925 3.0GHz OEM CPU
- Thermaltake CL-P0378 90mm CPU Cooler
- Ultra 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 Memory
- Maxtor DiamondMax 21 200GB HD
- Sony NEC Optiarc 18x DVD Burner
- nVidia GeForce FX5200 256MB PCI GPU
- Aspire Blue Aluminum Tri-Fan 520-Watt PSU
- Power Up ATX Silver Mid Tower
imconfused is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset!

Use ALCOHOL and a cotton swab and/or paper towel to clean.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 10:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: "Skook", PA, USA
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to imconfused Send a message via AIM to imconfused Send a message via MSN to imconfused Send a message via Yahoo to imconfused
Default Re: OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset!

will there be any permanent effects? is it going to be damaged or will it be safe do u think?
__________________
SYSTEM SPECS:

- Intel D945GCPE Socket 775 Mobo
- Intel Pentium D 925 3.0GHz OEM CPU
- Thermaltake CL-P0378 90mm CPU Cooler
- Ultra 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 Memory
- Maxtor DiamondMax 21 200GB HD
- Sony NEC Optiarc 18x DVD Burner
- nVidia GeForce FX5200 256MB PCI GPU
- Aspire Blue Aluminum Tri-Fan 520-Watt PSU
- Power Up ATX Silver Mid Tower
imconfused is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 10:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset!

Thermal paste is "supposedly" non conductive. Just use a cotton swab and some alcohol, get as much as you can out. Might even try using a toothpick to scoop whatever else you can get.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 10:40 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: "Skook", PA, USA
Posts: 42
Send a message via ICQ to imconfused Send a message via AIM to imconfused Send a message via MSN to imconfused Send a message via Yahoo to imconfused
Default Re: OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset!

good idea, thanks so much, i can't believe i didn't think of a toothpick earlier. one of those really simple things i guess that u should pass by looking for a big solution.
__________________
SYSTEM SPECS:

- Intel D945GCPE Socket 775 Mobo
- Intel Pentium D 925 3.0GHz OEM CPU
- Thermaltake CL-P0378 90mm CPU Cooler
- Ultra 1024MB PC4200 DDR2 Memory
- Maxtor DiamondMax 21 200GB HD
- Sony NEC Optiarc 18x DVD Burner
- nVidia GeForce FX5200 256MB PCI GPU
- Aspire Blue Aluminum Tri-Fan 520-Watt PSU
- Power Up ATX Silver Mid Tower
imconfused is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 04:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset!

thermal paste isnt cunductive *well the new thermal paste like AS5, OCZ, etc* the old white stuff is conductive and may cause a short
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 09:23 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,885
Default Re: OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset!

Let the new stuff harden and I bet it is a bit conductive. Anyways, use medical grade alcohol, the stuff with a blue label has impurities in it. But that is just a personal preference. Medical grade is no more expensive than the normal kind. Just may be a bit harder to find it in higher concentration.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 10:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset!

i just use 90&#37; isopropyl.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 04:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Custom User Title
 
decibaL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 341
Default Re: OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset!

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
i just use 90% isopropyl.
its 91%
__________________

decibaL is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 04:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: OOPS...Thermal Paste in the Chipset!

bleh
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tuniq thermal paste questions... Raknor Overclocking and Modding 2 10-28-2007 09:34 PM
i didnt apply thermal paste levon11 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-14-2007 10:44 AM
Tuniq Tower and Thermal Paste MacDaddyGator New Systems | Building and Buying 13 09-01-2007 12:01 AM
How often should I change the Thermal Paste? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 16 08-28-2007 06:20 AM
Removing Thermal Paste? phucng_10 Overclocking and Modding 10 08-05-2007 03:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.