Only one IDE device connecter...? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-06-2007, 01:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bey0nd
Default Only one IDE device connecter...?

My new motherboard only has support for ONE IDE cable...
so i can only have one slave one master and thats it.

I have two IDE harddrives and two IDE devices
... is there a wire that will allow more devices to connect ?...
or am i going to have to resort to an IDE To SATA converter ?

thanks for the help in advancee
__________________

bey0nd is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 01:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default Re: Only one IDE device connecter...?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bey0nd View Post
My new motherboard only has support for ONE IDE cable...
so i can only have one slave one master and thats it.

I have two IDE harddrives and two IDE devices
... is there a wire that will allow more devices to connect ?...
or am i going to have to resort to an IDE To SATA converter ?

thanks for the help in advancee
Why not buy more SATA devices or actually READ what you are buying next time? Without buying a PCI card that allows more IDE to connect ... you are going to have to realize that SATA is not only better ... but getting cheaper for the quality....

It's like buying a MB that only supports PCI-E but only have an old AGP card and wish to use it.... doesn't make sense. Read what you buy or trade.
__________________

mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 09:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Only one IDE device connecter...?

or you can resort to a PCI-IDE connector.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-06-2007, 09:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to bey0nd
Default Re: Only one IDE device connecter...?

first build i dunno why i didnt take notice of something so small

thanks anyways heh.
bey0nd is offline  
Old 11-07-2007, 09:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Only one IDE device connecter...?

Check reviews from around the net on any adapters that you may buy, **** just buy sata hard drives, there cheaper than old IDE hard drives.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 11-08-2007, 04:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: Only one IDE device connecter...?

Newegg.com - PROMISE ULTRA133 TX2 PCI IDE 66M PCI Controller Card - OEM
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE RAID and SATA RAID togather abadjay Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-02-2007 02:37 PM
Windows Mobile Device Center Updated Osiris Phones, Tablets, and other Handheld Devices 0 06-08-2007 08:02 AM
does pinging a device indicate if a firewall is present on the device? rookie1010 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 10 05-18-2007 07:55 PM
HL-DT-ST RW/DVE GCC-4481B ATA Device & Windows Vista NenaGb Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-05-2007 05:16 PM
How to know the IP address and port number of a device connected to PC through LAN Sunil Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 04-01-2007 07:53 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.