only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-26-2011, 08:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Default only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found

+asus p8p67 pro

I don't think i have defective RAM...
should i update my bios?

my computer can only find 4gb yet cpu-z can find 6gb...





__________________

ryalho is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found

How much physical RAM do you have in there? Open up your case and have a look.

Try running each stick on its own. See if it detects them all. Otherwise it may be a bad slot.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 08:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Default Re: only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found

how could it be a bad slot when cpuz can detect the tri channel memory in each of the three slots?
ryalho is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 09:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found

How much physical RAM do you have in there? 2 x 2GB? 2 x 2GB 2 x 1GB? What?

Edit: Weirder things have happened...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 09:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found

You shojuldnt have tri channel ram, p67 boards are dual.

Whats your bios saying?
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 10:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found

Couldn't he have just 3 x 2GB single channel RAM sticks?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 10:46 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Default Re: only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found

Ok so i have g.skill 3x2gb ram

I tested each stick of ram separately and tested one in each slot... results came through with flying colors... yet I can only get 4gb of ram detected and not 6gb... I'll even say again that cpu z found the 6gb of ram, it also found it in slots 1,2,3 (technically 2,3,4.)

so i ruled out any ram problems
I also ruled out any mobo slot problems

Now if p67 models can only take dual ram, I might as well return this to newegg and get 4x2gb
ryalho is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 10:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found

I don't think that p67 board likes being filled up to 3 slots when not in dual channel.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 10:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Default Re: only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found

then i'll go with 2x4gb
ryalho is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 10:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 20
Default Re: only 4 out of 6 gb of ram found

do you have any suggestions?
__________________

ryalho is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i just found out... Nagasama New Systems | Building and Buying 24 08-15-2008 09:58 PM
Suspected .exe found to be a trojan, not found on the web Rouen Viruses, Spyware and Malware 0 03-30-2008 06:46 PM
HDD not found Jophess New Systems | Building and Buying 16 12-26-2007 02:20 AM
Found $40 So ...... Kazama Off Topic Discussion 43 03-09-2006 12:14 AM
Found a AMD K6-2 550! willsko87 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 12-17-2004 01:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.