Onboard Still Active? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-26-2005, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default Onboard Still Active?

I think the "other devices" is my onboard, and I think its causing problems on my pc. I have been experiencing lots of problems with FS2004 freezing up for 10-15 seconds and then returning to normal. I completely uninstalled the drivers for my onboard and everything then changed the bios setting and then installed card and drivers and that still shows up. I dont know what could be wrong but thanks for any and all help you guys can supply!

__________________

__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 09-26-2005, 11:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

Can anyone please shine a light on this subject? Is there any way I can disable my onboard physically? Thanks...
__________________

__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 12:29 AM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Well yes, but there's no need to physcially disable it through the jumpers (assuming you have jumpers setting for onboard devices). Just disable it in BIOS is enough, you can't really uninstall it because it'll just return. The best solution is to disable it in BIOS, set agp as the primary video, and disable it in device manager.
Law is offline  
Old 09-27-2005, 12:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

So I assume its an intergrated video chipset? By your terminology thats what it would mean but if youre confused with the terms it could possibly be that you might have a VGA expansion card. Not trying to insult you but just checking cause im not sure how experienced you are.
__________________
\"No matter how deeply troubled you are, you can always change if you\'re willing.\"
Brentb2607 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.