Onboard Graphics Card? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-17-2008, 12:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
Default Onboard Graphics Card?

I know onboard isn't good so I'm going to get a new graphics card soon but...when I bought my PC it said I had 256MB onboard graphics card which would be Geforce 6150SE nForce 430 but when I look the card up it says 128MB. How do I find out how much memory I actually have?
__________________

Shiinji is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 12:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re: Onboard Graphics Card?

Hello,

Onboard graphics usually uses a Unified Memory Architecture Design (Shared Memory Architecture), where a porton of system memory is allocated as graphics memory.

Most onboard graphics which share system memory usually allow you to specify the amount of RAM allocated in the BIOS settings.
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 12:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Onboard Graphics Card?

Thanks, I found it.
Shiinji is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 01:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Onboard Graphics Card?

The onboard steals the memory from the RAM.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-17-2008, 01:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Onboard Graphics Card?

depends on the situation, it'll steal upto 256mb depending on how much graphics power needed
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Graphics Card Upgrade summits System Upgrades 3 01-03-2008 06:37 PM
Graphics card incompatibility? ChiliPalmer Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-30-2007 11:01 PM
one last graphics card... realmike15 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-11-2007 10:37 PM
graphics card chris578 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 08-24-2007 10:56 PM
Graphics card fan iviv Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 03-31-2007 06:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.