Old school Pavillion Probz - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2007, 11:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Old school Pavillion Probz

Okay first of all Hello everyone this is my first post here. Well, I have my old HP pavillion 6646c with its AMD K6-2 500mhz processor well thats all good and stuff but I only have a windows 95 disk to put on there. Perhaps sum of u know that there is a problem with the AMD K6 that are over 350mhz running windows. (IOS device failure.) Well I downloaded an upgrade that was to fix it but the problem is that I cant get into windows to run the upgrade so..... yeah.I tried to run it in dos mode but it cant be run in dos which I figured. So I got this crazy idea... I have another pavillion with the same processor only its got 200mhz which is less than 350 so I said "hey they're aboth socket 7 and i have a pin set in my newer hp for the fan. Maybe ill juat put it in. I cant find enough info on other threads mostly because they all assume you're trying to upgrade. but so yea if i could run windows with my little processor I could install the upgrade and out my good one back in. But i tried that and the computer wont give me anything on the screen when i turn it on. The lights come on and the processor fan is on and all looks well enough but the screen stays blank. IDK is this maybe a jumper problem?

If anyone can help me PLEASE.

RakaDisciple is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 11:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Old school Pavillion Probz

Did you try reseting the BIOS?


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-12-2007, 11:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: Old school Pavillion Probz

Microsoft said that it wont work with the 500mhz. I cant get to any screen with the 200mhz soooooo.
RakaDisciple is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1more year of school (your experiences?) revenge2 Off Topic Discussion 35 09-12-2007 11:09 AM
Computer School? no_Wedge Technology Careers and Education 6 09-09-2007 08:32 PM
heading back to school. Poizen22 Off Topic Discussion 6 09-04-2007 10:01 PM
Check out what just got deliered to my school :-) aspire New Systems | Building and Buying 23 06-07-2007 06:38 PM
New school games on old school system zacharyt New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-01-2007 08:50 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.