Old PC haveing Problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2012, 03:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Residential Loon
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,087
Exclamation Old PC haveing Problems

I've got a Old P4 System here. Its Constently beeping and wont respond to the TV out Put Via the S-Video and L&R Audio Cable Pluged in via the Front. I've checked the internals and all seems well, everything set up and Pluged in ect. But I'm connecting via VGA to S-Video on the front of an old TV. CRT. Has any one got any Ideas were to Start even in being able to resolve the Problems and get a Display. The Beeping is about 1 full second Long in lengh then it misses a second then again one full second in lengh.

Any help at all would be great, just to get the Computer up and ruuning and see it working. I got it for free, so wouldnt mind putting it to use.
__________________

Spud1200 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 04:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Old PC haveing Problems

IIRC, 1 long normally means there is a video problem. Does this have a PCI-E/AGP card in it?
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 08:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Residential Loon
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Old PC haveing Problems

Yes it does, it has an AGP slot, but the GPU, is an old PCI card.. I got the Tower for free, and it has an 80GB HDD, but only want to use iot for Media Storage, its come with a Genuine XP Pro Licence.. So thought, why not! The Beeping is repeating it self Continuesly, over and over again.

I've tried Unpluging the Card, Botting it with no luck via the onboard Chipset from the back panel, then Ive pluged in the Card and Botted it again to no luck.

The Way I'm running the Video from the PC, is via a VGA to S-Video Female and R&L Audio Female, then Via Male to a Scart adaper (Female) to the back of the TV, I have two options on the Scart adapter. Input and Output. Then I'm cycling threw the AV Settings with no luck.

Im gonna have a look at it again now and see if I can find out what the Problem is.
Spud1200 is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 09:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Old PC haveing Problems

It could be a memory problem as well. Did you check it with only one stick in?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-25-2012, 09:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
The Residential Loon
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Old PC haveing Problems

Sorry MindoverMaster, I've got it wrong. Its not a P4 System, not sure what it is! And what I thought was a PCI GPU, is acutally a Serial port expansion for Printers, Modems, Faxes ect.

Thats how old it is. Didnt even know what I was Dealing with.

What i've done its set the Scart adapter to output, via the VGA, used one stick of 1GB DDR Rev.1 Memory, then I've pluged it in to a acutal VGA Monitor to cut out the Hassle, and its still not produceing an output. But it must be regestering with the System as when I unplug the Monitor I get a Message something along the Lines of, 'No Input.'

But the One second beep is still their, so I can only asume that the Motherboard's seen its Day! ..

If thats the case I mite just salvage the Parts, HDD, IDE Cables, and DVD RW ect.

The Graphics is onboard and theirs no output.
Spud1200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Help would be Great.. Haveing Problems with DVDs. Spud1200 Multimedia 2 02-14-2012 06:38 PM
Haveing two OS on one harddrive. Filya_Baranov Linux and Open Source 5 07-20-2007 01:00 PM
Haveing trouble flashing the GA-965P-DS3? SPL Tech Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-29-2006 04:14 AM
Reformmating..haveing issues... PanzerKammander Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-17-2005 03:17 PM
haveing troubled installin mandrake linux Troubledyouth Linux and Open Source 7 05-07-2005 06:15 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.