Old part, new system, STOP: c000021a... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-20-2008, 01:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Old part, new system, STOP: c000021a...

I am putting a system together for a friend and I can install XP fine at first but when it resets and goes into the GUI part of the setup it runs for several minutes and BSOD's with a "STOP: c000021a unknown hardware error" error.

Anyone know what this stop code means? I haven't been able to find much online so my first step is going to be a full firmware and BIOS upgrade. But I though I would ask around and see if I am missing something.

Asus A7V (old version)
AMD Athlon 1300
Western Digital 120 GB HDD
1024 MB of RAM
GeForce Ti 4200
__________________

Mr. LL is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 01:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Old part, new system, STOP: c000021a...

It may have been better posted in the windows subforum... Anyway what I can gather in a quick search is that it deals with the logon process, here is the link to the msdn article... Bug Check 0xC000021A: STATUS_SYSTEM_PROCESS_TERMINATED That is about all I can find...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 10:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 267
Default Re: Old part, new system, STOP: c000021a...

Thanks for the link. Its erring during the XP setup though so that's why I figured it was hardware related.
Mr. LL is offline  
Old 12-20-2008, 12:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Old part, new system, STOP: c000021a...

If you try that and it doesn't work, maybe try this. I don't know if this would help but Mak's Stop Error codes thread might give you some ideas to try. I reread his post, and it says that during Windows setup you can have stops because of driver issues, among other things. You may have made Windows belly sour, maybe. Here's the link anyways, if nothing else it might inspire you.

http://www.techist.com/forums/f9/dec...errors-193078/
oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programming Challenge - Advanced Compression System LightDark Programming 2 12-11-2008 10:11 PM
Considering a 2.1 system. Would it be an upgrade from what I've got? Jayce Computer Audio and Multimedia 3 11-17-2008 08:06 AM
System restore not working in Vista Barbara92021 Microsoft Windows and Software 6 11-15-2008 04:02 PM
System Backups As Easy As A B C..................... rockaway Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 13 04-18-2008 01:35 PM
XP Stop Error c000021a runtrails Microsoft Windows and Software 2 11-07-2007 02:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.