Old Computer Stuck on Checking NVRAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2008, 03:11 PM   #1 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Old Computer Stuck on Checking NVRAM

Well I have a customer's old AMD Duron 1300MHz computer here. First time I booted it up it ran fine and got the screen of "Boot disk failure press any key to try again". I restart it to change the boot sequence in BIOS so that it boots from the hard drive. But it gets stuck on "Checking NVRAM" after the reboot. So these are things I've tried so far to solve the problem in this order:

- reseated RAM
- changed IDE cable
- switched HD molex
- removed floppy power
- reset CMOS

After the CMOS reset I don't even get a boot screen. The next thing I was going to try was installing a different RAM module but it's tough when it doesn't even boot anymore! There is no speaker on this motherboard or case so it's impossible to use beeps.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 03:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
Formerly known as BuggyVeyron
 
Ewc1307's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: England
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to Ewc1307
Default Re: Old Computer Stuck on Checking NVRAM

Silly to ask but the only two things that spring to mind, which i see that you've tried are a bad IDE cable or some bad RAM.

May be worth just double checking and checing RAM stick by stick.

EDIT: Found this reply somewhere else;

Disconnect all cables, Floppy Drive IDE Check the Memory SDRAM make sure all DIMMS are in place.
Go to CMOS settings.
Go to STANDARD SETTINGS
SET All to AUTO
DETECT ALL IDE DRIVES.
HIT SKIP FOR CD ROM
SAVE AND EXIT.
__________________

__________________
Ewc1307 is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Old Computer Stuck on Checking NVRAM

Well I would be able to starting diagnosing but I can't even see the boot screen anymore so I don't know what to do! I'm using on board video right now so I'm thinking I'll try out a AGP card. Don't really have one I can use here though.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-24-2008, 06:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 89
Default Re: Old Computer Stuck on Checking NVRAM

You probly already tried but make sure you pull the battery before you do the bios reset . Had the similar probs with those old boards. If you get bios back there shouldbe an option to" skip certain checks so the system boots faster " or something like that. Had one here that was stuck on ckecking nvram. Had 384mb in it, would just keep running nvram over and over, get to 384 and start again. That what you mean when you say yours was stuck ? Disconnect the cdroms. Just have hard and floppy and try connecting the hard drive cable to the other connector on the board. MAY SOUND ROUGH BUT I once fixed this by spraying the memsticks with CRC AND IT FIXED IT . just not making good connection and had to give them a wriggle. Definatly sounds mem stick related. All so similar. I would try to get it back with minimal memory 1 128 or 1 256. Some of them oldies if you try to run 512mb they just keep rebooting over and over. Hope you get it sorted.
__________________
Main Circuit Board
Board: ASUSTeK Computer INC. A8N-SLI Premium
Bus Clock: 200 megahertz
Operating System System
Windows XP Home Edition Service Pack 2
Model Processor a
2.00 gigahertz AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core
128 kilobyte primary memory cache
512 kilobyte secondary memory cache
Display
Nvidia GeForce 8500 GT
n Circuit Board
Brunoboy is offline  
Old 04-28-2008, 10:07 AM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Old Computer Stuck on Checking NVRAM

Hey I'm back. Was gone all weekend .

Anyway I'll try a couple of the things you suggested bruno and get back here. A couple I've already tried and no luck.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-30-2008, 05:16 AM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Old Computer Stuck on Checking NVRAM

Disconnected the drives and it did nothing. I just realized this thing takes SDRAM instead of DDR and I have no other sticks of that lying around. Checked a few places online and that stuff is expensive now! I can get 2 gigs of DDR2-800 OCZ Platinum for the same price of 256 megs of SDRAM.

I hoping it's either RAM or the hard drive and not the boards controller. I'm going to clean the system out tomorrow and hope that it was just some dust that was interfering.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please help, computer won't turn on PcMe Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 01-06-2008 08:28 PM
New computer wont turn on jOnniesz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 09-09-2007 01:08 AM
My computer Won't start up SpRi7e Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 06-29-2007 01:49 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.