Old Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-05-2007, 01:35 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to Burn_Cycle
Default Old Computer

Hey, I just picked up this old Micron computer which i've never heard of this brand which also worries me. Any ways i picked it up from my bro because he was going to throw it away. Anyways it is a
Pentium 2 running at 400MHZ
512MB of RAM
OS= M$ ME

So anyways its not a bad computer for being so old. But It has a **** load of viruses on it. So I am going to do a system restore on it and install linux on it. The problem with this is... When i reboot the comp it wont go to the linux screen as it should. I thought the cd rom might be defected. So i looked and it read perfectly but still won't load to the Ubuntu screen. Any Ideas?
__________________

Burn_Cycle is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Change the boot priority in the BIOS to boot from the CD first.

When you reboot, look for "Press *KEY* to enter setup"

Usually it's the delete key, F1, F2, or something else.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to Burn_Cycle
Default

Wow, that was a stupid question for me to ask! Thanks crazed.
__________________
<IMG SRC="http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e190/Damnation56/sweeeeet.jpg">
Burn_Cycle is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to Burn_Cycle
Default

GREAAAAT! Now I have it loading the cd rom. But now when it gets past the loading screen it will turn black and freeze. Maybe I should try another distro?
__________________
<IMG SRC="http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e190/Damnation56/sweeeeet.jpg">
Burn_Cycle is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202
Default

It most definitely should work (it will be really slow but it will run). What version are you trying to use? 6.06 and try that if your not already.
__________________
CPU - E6400 Core 2 Duo @ 3.2ghz
Cooling - Zalman CNPS9500
Motherboard - Asus P5W DH Deluxe
Memory - OCZ PC2-8000 Platinum XTC 2GB (2x1024MB)
Video - BFG 8800 GTX OC
DVD - LG Super Multi
HD - WD Raptor 36gb
HD2 - Maxtor Diamondmax 10 250gb
PSU - Corsair HX Series CMPSU-620HX 620W
Case - Cooler Master Centurion 5
Sound - Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS
iamchel is offline  
Old 03-05-2007, 01:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to Burn_Cycle
Default

Yeah, thats the one... I think I am going to switch to a smaller distro. Any ideas? I was thinkin Debian but that is probably just as big as Ubunutu.
__________________
<IMG SRC="http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e190/Damnation56/sweeeeet.jpg">
Burn_Cycle is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 02:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to Burn_Cycle
Default

Ok, this computer is definitely messed up!!! I can't reformat the C:
It freezes every time i try to put a different OS on it. I have no ideas on exactly what is wrong. Maybe I should scan the **** outta it??? Any other ideas would be great!
__________________
<IMG SRC="http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e190/Damnation56/sweeeeet.jpg">
Burn_Cycle is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 02:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

download powermax and run that first, then format the drive and do your install.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 03-06-2007, 04:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to Burn_Cycle
Default

It says: "Not a valid Win32 app"

EDIT: S#!†... I guess you can't download it and transfer it to another computer. So I am gonna have to hook the POS up.
__________________

__________________
<IMG SRC="http://i39.photobucket.com/albums/e190/Damnation56/sweeeeet.jpg">
Burn_Cycle is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.