Old Compaq Screams In Pain!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2007, 02:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default Old Compaq Screams In Pain!!

I have an old Compaq Laptop from a friend. I said, I would fix it up for them and give it an new os, but I am starting to have problems. When it boots up, It screams this loud high pitch noise. I know this is a sign that something isn't right, because the motherboard is trying to tell me something. But what? It was working two months ago. I set it aside so that I could work on it later. It hasn't been touch since two months ago when it worked. It's been sitting in a bag protected.

Updated SPECS:
CPU: AMD AMD-K6(r)-2 with 3DNow(tm) Technology; 475 MHz
Video: Resolution SVGA; Video Resolution SVGA
BIOS: 1.07
Ram: 64 MB
CD-ROM Drive: Teac CD-224E-B25; IDE; Spin Rate 24x
Host Bus Adapter: Embedded IDE
Video Adapter Trident Microsystems, Inc. Blade 3D (9880); BIOS i7; 8 MB; Video
(Specs from online, they might be different than mine. I'm pretty sure, that my MHz is around 200 to 300.)

Any ideas on how to at least get this baby to start up?
__________________

yaminohaka is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default Re: Old Compaq Screams In Pain!!

its not worth it anything below 350Mhz i throw away
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Old Compaq Screams In Pain!!

I forgot to add,
I did open the laptop up and see what was it. And now, your like "What a dumb***, thats your problem. You probably took something out." But I didn't I couldn't find anything. No ram slot, no hard drive, or anything but a fan. Is it just bad that I open it. Maybe it's too old, and its not meant to be open up? Newer laptop, you can open them and upgrade them. Is that different with older laptops.

I think the laptop is anywhere from 10 to 15 years old at the most.
yaminohaka is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Old Compaq Screams In Pain!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd2800 View Post
its not worth it anything below 350Mhz i throw away
Im just gonna put some Linux distro on it, depending on what linux distro it'll run just fine. I'm running xubuntu on a old p3, and it's runs just fine. The laptop is for a little 7 grader. All she wants is to instant message, internet and write papers. This means the world to her. So, yes. It's worth it.
yaminohaka is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 03:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Old Compaq Screams In Pain!!

High pitch noise from the motherboard's speakers? or something else?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 03:12 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Old Compaq Screams In Pain!!

$10 bucks it's from the motherboard speakers. (im 99.9% sure. It's really loud, it can't be anything else then the speakers.)

Updated SPECS:
CPU: AMD AMD-K6(r)-2 with 3DNow(tm) Technology; 475 MHz
Video: Resolution SVGA; Video Resolution SVGA
BIOS: 1.07
Ram: 64 MB
CD-ROM Drive: Teac CD-224E-B25; IDE; Spin Rate 24x
Host Bus Adapter: Embedded IDE
Video Adapter Trident Microsystems, Inc. Blade 3D (9880); BIOS i7; 8 MB; Video
(Specs from online, they might be different than mine. I'm pretty sure, that my MHz is around 200 to 300.)
yaminohaka is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 06:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Old Compaq Screams In Pain!!

I notice something new. The high pitch noise keeps goings for a while, stops. Then starts up again but softer. That the noise stops, the computer boots up. This whole process is about 5 minutes or so long and then it actually boots up. This is the weirdest thing i've ever seen before. I've notice the only fan i can see, isn't getting power/working. But, it still boots up. What should I do?
yaminohaka is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:47 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Old Compaq Screams In Pain!!

Which fan do you see that is not getting power or working?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:49 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Brinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,195
Default Re: Old Compaq Screams In Pain!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amd2800 View Post
its not worth it anything below 350Mhz i throw away
So wrong. DSL or Puppy...an older system can make a great word processing/web pc.
__________________
Antec 300 Illusion
430w Antec Earthwatts
AMD Q4 640 Propus
2x4gb Patriot DDR3 1333
750gb Seagate 7200.11 Hard Drive
Brinson is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 11:58 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: Old Compaq Screams In Pain!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brinson View Post
So wrong. DSL or Puppy...an older system can make a great word processing/web pc.
And, brinson, thats what I am doing. It's for my friend. (i probably said that already.
__________________

yaminohaka is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Iffy about a Compaq Presario laptop. Arumuni Laptops and Notebooks 10 07-15-2007 07:45 PM
enabling wireless on compaq nc6320 rookie1010 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 07-15-2007 06:25 PM
Compaq Drivers calem_123 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-09-2007 02:08 AM
Compaq Support info box pops up when playing guildwars? Aj53 Microsoft Windows and Software 0 05-27-2007 01:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.