Old Comp Broken - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2008, 11:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default Old Comp Broken

my dad has an old dell thats broken and this is what happens

1. The mouse doesn't work, went to computer hardware and said it was recognized. Its a USB optical mouse. Keyboard is fine.

2. Seems to be an error with the pictures, THe icons are really zoomed in and everything is well idk how to describe: pixely and like more contrast, like turning up saturation on photoshop.

3. When you try to reboot, computer screen turns black, but won't shut off. This happens once in awhile when u try to turn it on.

4. When I try to solve problem 2 by changing resolution and color settings, however, it requires the system to restart, which is not possible due to problem 3.

5. The computer uses windows something not sure 95 or 90... idk its old.

I'm planning just to replace the hard drive and just install Xp would this work?
__________________

wangie444 is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 04:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: In My Own Reality...Quite Comfy Really...
Posts: 128
Default Re: Old Comp Broken

What are the specs of the old dell? like RAM and CPU and HDD space...
__________________

__________________
Intel Q9450 @2.6 + TRUE
Asus Maximus Formula...ugg...
4 Gig Corsair Domiator
Inno3D 9800 GTX OC edition
Coolermaster 700W
Seagate 500 x 3
Coolermaster RC 690
Samsung 2233BW 22"
PhikMan is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 08:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Old Comp Broken

You might try a PS2 mouse. You'll have trouble finding USB drivers until you get XP installed. Sounds like the old CRT on the monitor is just about shot.
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 11:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Old Comp Broken

1)USB - did it work earlier? Or is this a new mouse? I would suggest with windows 95 to use a PS2 mouse, a USB mouse isn't supported by the original 95 and you will be hard-pressed to find a driver that works for it.
2)This can either be a resolution problem, or you have 'large icons' enabled. I would first try increasing the resolution to say 1024x768 or something around there, you may only be able to do 800x400 because of the age of the computer/monitor.
3)This is a tough one because we don't know what is installed on the computer. More than likely the OS is hanging because it can't shut down a certain task. I would monitor it while you shut down the system and see what application is poping up saying it can't be closed. If no such screen pops up I would end every task that is not essential to the running of the OS, then shut down.
4)Read #3
5)Probably 95, there isn't a windows 90, and before windows 95 there was windows 3.0.

Although some of the problems can be resolved by following the above, the best bet would be to get a new computer. You are just going to continually have issues with this machine because it is so old. Cut your loses, save your data and purchase a new computer. I'm sure it is a Pentium I or II with 64 mb ram and something like a 200 mhz processor and maybe a 2 gig hard drive. You are going to spend more time troubleshooting this dinosaur then it is worth.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 02:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: Old Comp Broken

Well one way to restart is to pull the plugs as a last option.
Highlandcomp is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 06:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 19
Default Re: Old Comp Broken

the mouse has always worked and works with other computers.
the computer recognizes the mouse but it doesnt move
i said i've TRIED to change the resolution, but when i click ok, it asks me to restart.
once the computers shuting down, the screen turns off, but the computer doesnt forcing me to pull the plugs
wangie444 is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 06:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Kharn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 7,638
Default Re: Old Comp Broken

If it is running windows 95 or windows 3.0 it is honestly not worth looking at unless you needed to keep it around out of interest or for some legacy programs - an if it is a hardware issue you might be totally scupperd to find spare parts etc.

Oh an if it is running 95 or 3.0 it will not run XP it will run like a 2 legged retarded dog that also happens to be on fire, even if you get it to boot.
__________________
Visit this and do something for the world!
www.hackersforcharity.org

Want to do even more? Take a look here and join the fight on human trafficking.

Hear and you forget, see and you remember, do and you understand.

Kharn is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 07:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: Old Comp Broken

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saxon View Post
If it is running windows 95 or windows 3.0 it is honestly not worth looking at unless you needed to keep it around out of interest or for some legacy programs - an if it is a hardware issue you might be totally scupperd to find spare parts etc.

Oh an if it is running 95 or 3.0 it will not run XP it will run like a 2 legged retarded dog that also happens to be on fire, even if you get it to boot.
Hillarious Saxon!

Back to the issue, i TOLD (notice i capitalized b/c you capitalized the try) you to terminate all uneeded processes prior to changing the resolution.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 07:36 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 999
Default Re: Old Comp Broken

What's the model number of the computer and mouse?
KurrentEweser is offline  
Old 08-18-2008, 07:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Old Comp Broken

best bet=XP all is not lost, but yeah, it might RECOGNIZE the mouse, that doesn't mean that it has the drivers needed to run it properly. either a) get a usb to ps2 converter or b) get a ps2 mouse. check the hardware, how much ram? what CPU? how big is the HDD? I'd place money the os might be screwed up somewhere being that old
__________________

__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Comp slows almost to a halt during long DL. rebnvodka Microsoft Windows and Software 1 07-21-2008 12:47 AM
HELP ME!! Just built first comp bor3d System Upgrades 18 10-08-2007 05:41 PM
Is AMDís 65nm SOI process broken? Kharn Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 08-21-2007 01:29 PM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 18 08-04-2007 06:58 AM
Comp won't shut off - weird clicking sound Haoming Viruses, Spyware and Malware 2 07-27-2007 01:02 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.