Old AMD system problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2008, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Old AMD system problem

So have an old system of my aunts that stopped working, they dropped it off for me to play with to save data. Turns out the PSU is dead, swapped in a new one and its up and running...except a couple of minor oddities:

1) Random shut downs....twice in the past 24 hours its just crashed (black screen, like re-hitting power switch).

2) Cannot connect to the local network or web, it detects absolutely nothing. I know the cable is good, unplugged it from a working system to this one. Tried directly to the modem without the router, no change. Updated drivers, no change.

Possible that the mobo sustained some damage when the cheapo PSU went?

Other than that the system seems to be working fine:

-AMD 2000+, 40GB, ECS L7VMM3
__________________

jfenwick is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 09:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Old AMD system problem

The mobo could have sustained some damage. I would update things like the chipset drivers and the other drivers that you can. See if that helps. As well as monitor the temps to see if there is a underlying problem somewhere.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
 
jfenwick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,648
Send a message via ICQ to jfenwick Send a message via MSN to jfenwick
Default Re: Old AMD system problem

Yeah, i think the mobo has some damage, I found an old LAN PCI card in my junk box of old parts, popped it in and the LAN as well as internet are up and running no problems.
jfenwick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with RAM / CPU. zukster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 09:43 PM
PC Freeze and Hard Drive Not Detected Problem. scott274 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 08-11-2008 01:43 PM
Having problem while upgrading AMD CPU...Please Help Toroth New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-30-2008 09:38 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
seagate 80gigs failing.. acuariano Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 27 08-27-2007 10:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.