old abit kd7a. FSB running too fast after memory upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2009, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 50
Default old abit kd7a. FSB running too fast after memory upgrade

I just installed a 1gb stick upgrade on my abitkd7a and when i load my computer it says its now running at 400FSB. I go into the bios and it says its running my amd athalon: 2700+(333).

but when i turn my comp on its telling me its running at 400. and i am getting freezes. thats problem number one.

problem number two is my ram is only showing up as 1.5GB. I started with 768 and added 1gb stick of ram. wheres there other 256 mb?

thank you very much.
__________________

ropeadopa is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 07:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: old abit kd7a. FSB running too fast after memory upgrade

Did you clear the CMOS after you installed it?
__________________

__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 07:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: old abit kd7a. FSB running too fast after memory upgrade

man.. that was kinda scary, couldnt load my comp for a while. it will not let me boot up unless running at 400mhz fsb. so I took out both of my other sticks and kept the new one and finally i got back on. also, i tried taking out the ram i just installed and now it will ONLY run at 400 mhz.

clear the cmos? no i did not. sorry im pretty dated on technology. what should i do? I've done it before and will have to research how to do it again, but do you suggest i put in all my other memory again and try to clear the cmos and boot again?

is it possible the new ram will ONLY run at 400mhz and ill just have to buy another 400mhz module to replace the old ones? that would not be good because i am poor.
ropeadopa is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 08:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: old abit kd7a. FSB running too fast after memory upgrade

i cleared my cmos, the first boot will allow me to run at 166 fsb, after i reboot it goes back to 400. my system is incredibly unstable. everything is just screwed. sigh. what am i supposed to do.
ropeadopa is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 09:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: old abit kd7a. FSB running too fast after memory upgrade

Try to manually set FSB, RAM speed and RAM voltage.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 09-09-2009, 09:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 50
Default Re: old abit kd7a. FSB running too fast after memory upgrade

i did.

i loaded the settings for amd athalon 2600+(333) then checked user defined and kept the settings.

my comp will either not power on again (loud beeps) and i have to clear cmos or load in 400fsb anyway.
__________________

ropeadopa is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Memory speed related to Overclocking Wease Overclocking and Modding 2 01-22-2008 10:04 PM
Long Beeps at start up freak67 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 12-06-2007 06:08 PM
Problems with Memory affecting SATA drive? DJUDX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-30-2007 06:33 PM
Memory Upgrade, computer still slow! bonoz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 06-20-2007 06:15 PM
Computer running out of Virtual Memory. Ckivi Viruses, Spyware and Malware 6 04-25-2007 04:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.