Okay THis is stupid But IM a noob at this!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

haterade008

Beta member
okay not going to deny it, i am a noob at putting computers together and yeah...

i got all my parts at one time through UPS and i hurried up to put it all together...dumb

my parts are...

asus m4a78t-e motherboard
AMD phenom II x4 965
4gb Crucial RAM
HD radeon 5770
diablotek 650

okay so heres what i did .... i hurried up to put it all together i didnt read the directions cause i was so hyped up and wanting to game and such but i just threw it in the case without the spacers and hooked up everything to it and i thought i was ready to go and i plugged in the power supply and powered it up and then suddenly i see smoke freak out then turn it off...at this point i feel like throwing the whole thing threw the sliding glass door due to my stupidty...so i RMA the motherboard bc without spacers you blow motherboard and now i got new motherboard and the RAM is compatible btw ...and i hook everything back up with the case on a non static surface and just hook up the main parts you need and when i hit the power supply to turn it on the fans turn 1/2 and nothing happens...alot of people are saying that the crappy power supply is the reason but when i blew the motherboard i dont know if i blew the cpu ...it has no burn marks on it and when i saw smoke there was very little and it was from the motherboard so what could be the reason this POS isnt coming on... should i get a new power supply and what kind

Go ahead with a brand name PSU like Corsair, Rosewill, Antec, or OCZ.

If it's a crap PSU I wouldn't doubt that more than the board fried (CPU, possibly GPU)

no dude i know i killed the motherboard by not putting in the spacers yes i know it was noobish but do you think it killed anything else?

no dude i know i killed the motherboard by not putting in the spacers yes i know it was noobish but do you think it killed anything else?