OK, what the ****? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-27-2007, 08:19 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: OK, what the ****?

I've downloaded aprox. 2gb worth of drivers, patches, updates etc.
This is the strangest thing I've seen in a while. I just scanned the cover of Time magazine and you cannot tell the scan from the mag; so my ink levels are good, the machine works, I'm stymied
__________________

frank drakman is offline  
Old 08-27-2007, 09:54 PM   #12 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: OK, what the ****?

umm, Have you tried it with a different computer? It sounds like its picky and doesn't like your computer.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 09-14-2007, 07:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: OK, what the ****?

Tried it from my laptop; works just fine. I tried printer/properties/advanced/direct to printer...and still a blank page.

Anyone else have an idea?
frank drakman is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 03:23 AM   #14 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
enigm@tic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 393
Default Re: OK, what the ****?

Call customer service and check printing settings
enigm@tic is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 04:28 AM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: OK, what the ****?

Yeah...I've been back and forth with tech support for days now.

Thanks guys.
frank drakman is offline  
Old 09-15-2007, 05:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Re: OK, what the ****?

I GOT IT!!!

Even the HP goobers couldn't get it, but I finally figured it out (which is actually quite remarkable, since I'm such a newb an' all).

Data execution settings in XP Pro; DEC must be set for Win programs only.

Once I fixed it I took a look around, apparently this has been an issue for many other printers as well.

Thanks again for your continued interest, folks.
__________________

frank drakman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.