Odd problem, nothing on the monitor. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2008, 09:54 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Toryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Odd problem, nothing on the monitor.

So a couple of weeks ago I installed a soundcard and pretty quickly the PC started BSODing until it just gave in and started boot looping (would load upto the windows splash screen, flicker blue and reboot).

So I thought forget it, thats a driver issue and from the looks of it needs a reinstall of windows. Wasn't interested in doing that then (went on holiday) and have been using this laptop in the mean time.

So I'm trying to fix it now but when I turn it on, it doesn't reboot itself continually, instead the monitor acts like its in standby (ie waiting for the pc to turn on) and just shows a black screen. Infact both monitors Ive tried acted like they were on standby while the pc was on, and then when I unplugged the monitor from the PC it would "switch-on" and show the coloured box moving around the screen.

All the connections inside the PC are good, and the only change between when I installed the soundcard (and subsequent error) and now; was the RAM being removed, put in another pc, and then put back.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
8800GTS 512 @ 675/972
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB
Asus Maximus Formula
X-Fi Extreme Gamer 7.1
3TB of HDD
Corsair HX 520W
Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme with Scythe S-flex 1k2rpm
Thermaltake Armor VA80008
Toryn is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Odd problem, nothing on the monitor.

Hello,

Can you get into Safe Mode at all?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:16 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Toryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: Odd problem, nothing on the monitor.

Nope, absolutely nothing is showing on any monitor.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
8800GTS 512 @ 675/972
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB
Asus Maximus Formula
X-Fi Extreme Gamer 7.1
3TB of HDD
Corsair HX 520W
Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme with Scythe S-flex 1k2rpm
Thermaltake Armor VA80008
Toryn is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Odd problem, nothing on the monitor.

Hello,

What OS are you using? XP or Vista?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Toryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: Odd problem, nothing on the monitor.

Vista, upgraded from XP if that makes any difference.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
8800GTS 512 @ 675/972
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB
Asus Maximus Formula
X-Fi Extreme Gamer 7.1
3TB of HDD
Corsair HX 520W
Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme with Scythe S-flex 1k2rpm
Thermaltake Armor VA80008
Toryn is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Odd problem, nothing on the monitor.

Hello,

Sadly Vista does not have a Repair feature. So if you do not have any restore points your only option will be to format and reinstall.

Also have you gone into the BIOS to disable onboard sound now that you have a sound card?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Toryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: Odd problem, nothing on the monitor.

I cant get into the bios.

The problem is that the PC turns on (lights come on, fans start) but both monitors that I tried show nothing.

The power-on light for the monitor is orange (standby) despite the PC being on, and it is only when the monitor is unplugged from the PC that anything happens (the monitor shows a moving box of primary colours).

Both monitos work when connected to this laptop.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
8800GTS 512 @ 675/972
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB
Asus Maximus Formula
X-Fi Extreme Gamer 7.1
3TB of HDD
Corsair HX 520W
Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme with Scythe S-flex 1k2rpm
Thermaltake Armor VA80008
Toryn is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Odd problem, nothing on the monitor.

Hello,

Have you checked to make sure that the video card is firmly in it slot and not lifted from the slot at all?

Cheers,
Mak
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Toryn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 170
Default Re: Odd problem, nothing on the monitor.

Yeah its firmly in place and the powers fine as the fan spins.
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.2ghz
8800GTS 512 @ 675/972
Crucial Ballistix 2x1GB
Asus Maximus Formula
X-Fi Extreme Gamer 7.1
3TB of HDD
Corsair HX 520W
Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme with Scythe S-flex 1k2rpm
Thermaltake Armor VA80008
Toryn is offline  
Old 06-29-2008, 10:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Odd problem, nothing on the monitor.

have you tried removing the sound card?
also you said the ram was mooved from one pc to another and then put back in the current pc, so could the ram have been damaged?
__________________

__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LCD Monitor Brands TRDCorolla1 System Upgrades 29 04-09-2008 06:12 PM
No boot power turns on but no signal in monitor ekw808 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 03-05-2008 12:01 PM
Odd Networking Problem TheWongizzle Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 10-14-2007 07:47 PM
Graphics Card Or Monitor Problem? whitedove Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-02-2007 09:30 PM
New Monitor Time.... I guess?? sadisticmidget New Systems | Building and Buying 17 08-26-2007 07:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.