Odd Pc Problem! Help!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-18-2007, 07:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Unhappy Odd Pc Problem! Help!!

OK so the other day i was installing a game on to my 200GB sata harddrive (slave) and the game install froze for some odd reason so i just shut the pc off. When i turned it back on the pc would not boot up it would just sit on the windows loading screen. And now to make the computer bootup everytime i start my computer i have to unplug the sata harddrive or the pc just sits there at the loading screen then i have to plug the sata drive back in and go to the computer management and turn the sata disk back online.

Anyone no why my 200gb sata drive is making my pc not boot up? and i deleted any trace of the half installed game that froze and caused this problem.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
AMD 3700+ 64-Bit at 2.8ghz
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
e-GeForce 8800GT 512mb
1GB DDR400 Hyper X
200+100+80GB HDD
19" Acer WideScreen LCD
AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 11:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

Could be the way the drives are being detected in the bios. I would check to make sure all is well and maybe turn on the "verbose" mode so the bios writes to your monitor at boot up.
I am not sure if unplugging the drive while it is powered up is good to do, i could be wrong.
__________________

__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 02-18-2007, 11:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Default

i dont unplug the drive while the pc is on i have to unplug it b4 i start the computer up

and as for drivers and all i no jack about sata drives i suprised i even got this 200gb one to work!
__________________
AMD 3700+ 64-Bit at 2.8ghz
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
e-GeForce 8800GT 512mb
1GB DDR400 Hyper X
200+100+80GB HDD
19" Acer WideScreen LCD
AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 02:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

ok let me re-phrase it. I don't think it is really good to PLUG IN a sata drive with the power on.
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 03:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Camshaft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 58
Default

SATA drives can be hot plugged
__________________
AMD X2 4200
ASUS M2N - e
1gb A data DDR2 667
6600GT
CPU-Z Validator
Camshaft is offline  
Old 02-20-2007, 03:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
LA1
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: eastcoast
Posts: 453
Default

if that is the case then i would definately check the bios , especially the boot order
__________________
LA1 is offline  
Old 02-22-2007, 08:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 98
Default

yeah i check bios played around a lil bit did something and now its working
__________________

__________________
AMD 3700+ 64-Bit at 2.8ghz
Gigabyte K8 Triton Series nForce 4 SLI Motherboard
e-GeForce 8800GT 512mb
1GB DDR400 Hyper X
200+100+80GB HDD
19" Acer WideScreen LCD
AMD 3200+ 64 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.