OCZ PSU problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2006, 03:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default OCZ PSU problem

i have OCZ powerstream 600W PSU w/ DFI LanParty SLI-DR. my comp was working perfectly till yesterday. when i went home and tried to power up my PC...but it won't..the power button do nothing...i opened up and tried the MOBO power switch but no respose. there was usually a little LED on the mobo (side of the RAM) usually lit up but its not. i reseted the PSU' power and the LED lights up for a 2 sec and slowly dimed down. so i thought the PSU is dying. it's less than a year old and OCZ is supposed to be good company. but the weird thing is, there is a voltage selecter on the back of PSU that you can taggle bet. 110V and 220V. when i rapidly taggle that switch while im pressing the power switch (on PC), it starts up. and PC functions perfectly. so PSU is not quite dead yet. but i have to taggle that voltage selecter rapidly everytime i want to turn on my PC...i dont think thats a good sign... have any of you guys had this kind of problem? any input will be appriciated. thx.
__________________

boomstick666 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 03:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

never heard of that. Really doesnt sound like a good idea to me though

Does the psu power up ok if you short the green and black wires with a paper clip? (whilst completely disconnected from your comp of course)
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrCoffee
never heard of that. Really doesnt sound like a good idea to me though

Does the psu power up ok if you short the green and black wires with a paper clip? (whilst completely disconnected from your comp of course)
not sure...ill try that when i go home. it looks like the PSU problem but it could be the mobo, you know...
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
dcc
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107
Default

Time for a new PSU.
dcc is offline  
Old 09-14-2006, 02:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dcc
Time for a new PSU.
its less than a year old and when it turns on, works perfectly. its just the fact it wont turn on normally. thats y it might be the mobo but not sure....
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 05:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

OK now my comp won't even start up at all..... i've asked OCZ tech support about it also. they told me to connect the green and black wire w/ paper clip and ....nothing. nothing at all happens.. so my PSU is officially dead...i guess. but i really thought OCZ powerstream is a good PSU. and it's only been 10 months of use. what a disappointing for a expensive PSU... or i just got unlucky... either way, this sucks. i really hope other components are ok...
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

dude, it shoud be covered under warrenty, you should be able to get it replaced for free
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 10-18-2006, 05:13 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IrishNinjaX
dude, it shoud be covered under warrenty, you should be able to get it replaced for free
woohoo. they said they can send me GameXtreme 700W instead of powerstream 600W. I'm kinda glad it blew up so i can get the better one for free.... anyway, good company has good customer support. I guess 600W wasn't enough to drive 5x120mm fans, 2x 60mm fans, TV tuner card, 7800GTX512, +CPU...
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.