(o.O) Clicking HD (o.O) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2006, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 22
Default (o.O) Clicking HD (o.O)

I got a clicking Western Digital 20GB Hard Drive, I still have data on it and I have to get it out somehow, I've read about freezing it, but is this "solution" a one way desition? I mean if I freeze it and it doesn't work it's going to stop working for good, or is the HD still functional after freezing it?

Can it get really damaged by freezing it?
__________________

nightwalkerxt is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 12:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

Freezing the hdd?? you mean putting the hdd in the freezer?? If so i dont think that would work, sounds kinda retarded to me. Best thing to do is back up your hdd and get a new one buddy.
__________________

__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 12:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

freezing is only good as a temporary sokution to get data off a failing hdd. you need to seal the hdd in an anti-static bag and put it in the freezer for a while. this works sometimes because the sound can be caused by the hdd's "arm" striking the platters. freezing it causes the metal to contract and pulls the arm away from the platters
Nitestick is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 12:55 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

click the button above on the left , check pms
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 01:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Stevo808
Freezing the hdd?? you mean putting the hdd in the freezer?? If so i dont think that would work, sounds kinda retarded to me. Best thing to do is back up your hdd and get a new one buddy.
yes that's what I meant, I just found about that by googling for my problem, but it sounds a bit crazy, don't you think so?

Although the HD seems to get better when I let it cool down for a while...

The question is, if you freeze a HD can it get damaged?... it just doesnt make sense to me for some reason to freeze a delicate electronic device ... =/

I'll try with the recovery programs first though...
nightwalkerxt is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 02:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nightwalkerxt
yes that's what I meant, I just found about that by googling for my problem, but it sounds a bit crazy, don't you think so?

Although the HD seems to get better when I let it cool down for a while...

The question is, if you freeze a HD can it get damaged?... it just doesnt make sense to me for some reason to freeze a delicate electronic device ... =/

I'll try with the recovery programs first though...
Heat makes things expand, cold makes things contract. If the HDD gets hot and the metal expands, things could get messed up.
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 10:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default

I have never heard about that, very interesting. How long would you freeze it for?
After power down I would allow the drive to get to room temp first then put it in the freezer. Act fast.
poorman is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 12:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 181
Default

My old HD was doing it, so I got a new one.
__________________
AMD Opteron 170 @ 2.9 Ghz
DFI LanParty UT nF4 SLI-DR Expert
OCZ Gold XTC PC4000 (2x1024)
Nvidia 7900 GT
Creative Audigy 2 ZS
Thermaltake Big Typhoon (Artic 5)
Gigabyte 3DAurora case
SilverStone Zues 650W PSU
Lynch Hung is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 03:09 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

wow. I never know that would actually work, but only for a little while. That is interesting stuff, but getting a new hdd as i said would be the best bet.
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 04-16-2006, 03:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Stevo808
wow. I never know that would actually work, but only for a little while. That is interesting stuff, but getting a new hdd as i said would be the best bet.
Well yes, freezing it is only temporary. The point is, is to get the files you want/need off the HDD before it becomes totally inaccessible. Freezing is often a last resort, and usually works.
__________________

CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.