nvram? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2005, 11:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
Exclamation nvram?

Hi. whenever i restart or shut down, then boot up my pc, a message that says checking nvram stays on the screen. i have to turn off the power supply, unplug the cord, plug it in, turn on the power supply, and boot up my pc every time i want to use it. Any way i can fix this?
__________________

speakincursive is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 08:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

sounds like the problem lies with either your memory or the motherboard. depedning on how much you know about computers i would suggest removing all bar one stick of RAM if you have several and trying to boot. if that fails try one of the other sticks on its own. if that works add another stick and so on
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 03:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
sounds like the problem lies with either your memory or the motherboard. depedning on how much you know about computers i would suggest removing all bar one stick of RAM if you have several and trying to boot. if that fails try one of the other sticks on its own. if that works add another stick and so on
Ram isnt NVRAM.

I am guessing it is checking some Non-Violitiale RAM in somewhere like the BIOS. My first step would be to reset the CMOS by pulling out the battery for 15 min. Than my other step would be reflash the BIOS.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 09:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

You could also reset the CMOS by flipping the switch next to the Bios.

Like above. NVRAM is not RAM, it is RAM that is unchangable that is used for a bios or simular things that don't erase when powered off.
turtile is offline  
Old 09-19-2005, 10:34 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I recently had an experince with overwriting NVRAM, that's why I am knowledgeable in the field :/
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.