Nvidia GPU on a ATI chipset mobo, potential problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-13-2010, 09:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Nvidia GPU on a ATI chipset mobo, potential problem

I have an ATI chipset on my Mobo, but my GPU is an Nvidia card. Everytime I start up my computer it states that there is something wrong with my catalyst control center. Does anyone know what can be done, or if there is a real problem?

Thanks
__________________

mattk1045 is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 10:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Nvidia GPU on a ATI chipset mobo, potential problem

Its chipset does not matter in what cards you can use.

Did you recently change cards? It shouldn't have catalyst if you never had an ATI card.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Nvidia GPU on a ATI chipset mobo, potential problem

Since you only upgraded from onboard I don't think there's actually an issue.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 08-13-2010, 11:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Nvidia GPU on a ATI chipset mobo, potential problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Abstract Hero View Post
Since you only upgraded from onboard I don't think there's actually an issue.
Actually, there can be. He needs to uninstall the graphics drivers for the onboard (especially if it was an Nvidia). If he hasn't he needs to uninstall both the drivers for the onboard AND the Catalyst drivers, then reinstall Catalyst.

EDIT: I am running an Nvidia now, but my last two cards were ATI. My mobo has an Nvidia chipset. The chipset will work no matter what card you use and vice-versa.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 03:18 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Nvidia GPU on a ATI chipset mobo, potential problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Actually, there can be. He needs to uninstall the graphics drivers for the onboard (especially if it was an Nvidia). If he hasn't he needs to uninstall both the drivers for the onboard AND the Catalyst drivers, then reinstall Catalyst.

EDIT: I am running an Nvidia now, but my last two cards were ATI. My mobo has an Nvidia chipset. The chipset will work no matter what card you use and vice-versa.
Trotter is correct. I don't know about ATI and nVidia, but I know Intel has been in and out of the New York Times for their recent court cases. Intel was fined, and ordered to cease their marketing tactics which included code and engineering in their chips designed to keep competitors chips from operating at full frequency, and bribing (re: strongarming) developers such as Dell, HP, Compaq, etc. to buy their chips over the competition. This is part of the reason Intel has so much money to throw at Research and Development. And it's part of the reason why AMD is suffering.

Video drivers and chipset drivers are notorious for not wanting to work together with competition hardware.
RichM499 is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 06:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Nvidia GPU on a ATI chipset mobo, potential problem

I remember in the old days that some Nforce3 chipsets didn't like ATI cards.

A lot of it comes down to driver support anymore.

Just remove the ATI Graphics drivers, but leave the chipset drivers intact, and you should be fine using an Nvidia based card.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 07:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 230
Default Re: Nvidia GPU on a ATI chipset mobo, potential problem

I have a ATI chipset on my mobo as an onboard graphics, but I recently installed an Nvidia GPU. I installed the drivers for that GPU and in my system it only shows that driver as being installed. When i look into the catalyst control center it prompts me to install for ATI which I don't want bcuz, I don't have or want to use that I want to only run my Nvidia GPU. Apparently my south bridge is ATI I just don't want there to be problems with having a different stand alone compared to my onboard chipset.
If it is a graphics driver, where can I find it? It looked to me like the only one there was for my Nvidia card.
Thanks
mattk1045 is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 09:47 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Nvidia GPU on a ATI chipset mobo, potential problem

Uninstall Catalyst. NVIDIA can not use it.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 08-14-2010, 10:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 203
Default Re: Nvidia GPU on a ATI chipset mobo, potential problem

Quote:
Uninstall Catalyst. NVIDIA can not use it.
Exactly this. I've been using NVIDIA cards (7600 and 9800) on an ATI chipset for two and a half years now without any issues whatsoever.
__________________

__________________
Computers:
(Main Desktop) Phenom 2 X4 965 BE + Scythe Mugen 2 Rev B Heatsink / 4gb DDR3-1600 RAM / nVidia 9800GT / Samsung F3 1tb HDD / Windows 7
(Laptop) Dell Vostro 1400 / Core 2 Duo T5670 1.8ghz / 2gb RAM / 8400M GS / 250gb HDD / Windows 7-Ubuntu Dual Boot
("Media Center" Desktop) Athlon X2 4000+ / 4gb RAM / nVidia 9400 / 250GB + 2TB HDD / Windows 7 Professional x64
trekkie00 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Sues NVIDIA Over Chipset License, NVIDIA CEO Reacts thirdshiftdj New Technology and Products 16 02-19-2009 10:50 AM
When will a good Conroe mobo with an NVIDIA chipset come out? Navaros New Systems | Building and Buying 2 08-17-2006 05:08 PM
ATI with a Nvidia chipset TheDiceman New Systems | Building and Buying 3 07-28-2006 03:41 AM
New Mobo with nvidia chipset PZEROFGH Overclocking and Modding 17 07-25-2005 09:08 AM
Via ord Nvidia Chipset livingdaylight Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 11 10-25-2004 04:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.