NV4 Video Card Issue ( nVdia GeForce 4 MX 440) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2006, 10:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default NV4 Video Card Issue ( nVdia GeForce 4 MX 440)

Hey, This is my first time here and I here to ask a question that is being a major pain to me. I own a nVidia GeForce4 MX 440. It worked fine until recently. I bought Half Life 2(HL2) and it said my drivers were out dated. So I did what any anxious gamer would do, I went to the nVidia website and got the driver that corresponded with my video card ( or atleast I think). Upon installing I went and tried HL2. I got an error message saying that I had a video card driver error.

This is a short hand version of what is said.

NV4 driver is not working properly, Please restart your computer.

I restarted and tried the game again, same results. I even tried to play a game that I play all the time ( World Of Warcraft ), This never even worked, the same error message. after I exit the message the screen becomes weird colours.

After restarting the computer I got a message that asks if I want to report this error to microsoft, I do and it gives me options. None of which are helpful.

Please help! If you can link the correct driver for my video card please do. If you know how I , someone who has little Computer knowledge, can fix it. Please tell!

Thanks,
Dylan.
__________________

Anderson225 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 12:04 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Uninstall your drivers in the control panel.
This is the correct file here:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_93.71.html
or if you've got Windows 9x
http://www.nvidia.com/object/win9x_81.98.html
__________________

__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 11:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
networkgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: TN
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jorsoft03
Uninstall your drivers in the control panel.
This is the correct file here:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp_2k_93.71.html
or if you've got Windows 9x
http://www.nvidia.com/object/win9x_81.98.html
yeah to back up jorsoft03, the drivers you installed were probably too advanced for your card. they were most likely calling functions your card didnt understand and it crashed. just do as above and installed the older drivers again.
networkgeek is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 08:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Uninstalled drivers, installed the "Correct Link" and got the same message when I tried to play games. This is what it says:

Windows - Display Driver has stopped responding

The NV4_disp display driver has stopped working normally. Save your work adn reboot the system to restore full functionality. The next time you reboot the machine a dialogue will be displayed giving you the chance to upload data about this failure to Microsoft.

It's starting to annoy me because I really don't want to pay to get this fixed.

Thanks in advance,
Dylan
Anderson225 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 11:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 105
Default

I had the same problem, My card was stuffed
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.00Ghz FSB 400Mhz
MSI MS-6533 Motherboard
1 - Seagate 20Gb 1 - 40 gig Maxtor AND 1 Western Digital - 80 gig (Variety there eh)
Geforce 5200 128mb AGP
Liteon Dvd Burner
340watt PSU
schultzy is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 11:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by schultzy
I had the same problem, My card was stuffed
Stuffed?
Anderson225 is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 12:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default

Can you reinstall the drivers that came with your card? Otherwise grab some older drivers of Nvidia's site. I haven't messed with the MX series in a long time-there were some tricks in getting them to work.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 01:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 105
Default

yeah, stuffed, I tried everything to get me old one to work, different computers, old and newest drivers, etc etc

so i came to the conclusion it was stuffed
__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.00Ghz FSB 400Mhz
MSI MS-6533 Motherboard
1 - Seagate 20Gb 1 - 40 gig Maxtor AND 1 Western Digital - 80 gig (Variety there eh)
Geforce 5200 128mb AGP
Liteon Dvd Burner
340watt PSU
schultzy is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 04:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
Default

Well, this sucks.. Off to the computer store for me. Any good ideas on a good card in the $200-$250 range?
Anderson225 is offline  
Old 12-31-2006, 07:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Well seeming you had a geforce 440 you would have agp, you could probably go for a geforce 6500 or 6800, dont know where you live so The prices are most likely different where i come from but thats an estimate
__________________

__________________
Intel Pentium 4 2.00Ghz FSB 400Mhz
MSI MS-6533 Motherboard
1 - Seagate 20Gb 1 - 40 gig Maxtor AND 1 Western Digital - 80 gig (Variety there eh)
Geforce 5200 128mb AGP
Liteon Dvd Burner
340watt PSU
schultzy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.