NTLDR is missing ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2007, 06:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 152
Default NTLDR is missing ???

as some might know from my antec 900 post im putting together a new rig anyways i had a seagate 80gb ide hdd lying nothing wrong with it to my understand i think i formatted it and had it sitting in the cupboard, pulled it out to set up windows on it for the new rig put in my xp pro cd...goes to the verifying DMI pool data...the a message "NTLDR is missing press alt+ctrl+del to restart" does it everytime any ideas ??
never seen it before
__________________

__________________
AMD ATHLON 64X2 5200+ DUAL CORE
ASUS M2N-E-SLI
256 DDR3 INNO3D 8600GT
2x1GB PQY DDR2 800MHZ
250GB SEAGATE IDE
320GB WESTERN DIGITAL SATAII
19" LG L194WT WS
ANTEC 900 CASE

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4600+ DUAL CORE
GB GA M555-SLI-S4
256 DDR2 ASUS 7600GT
2X 1GB DDR2 667MHZ
400GB SEAGATE SATAII
GENERIC CASE
joey1 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 06:46 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: NTLDR is missing ???

is this after you install windows? you might have to reinstall windows anyways because some files might not be copied correctly so just reinstall a fresh copy again and should work. if not your hdd might be faulty.
__________________

__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 06:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 152
Default Re: NTLDR is missing ???

nah as i said i think formatted when i got my 250gb and 320gb hdd and then put in storage...put in xp pro cd set the bootup and where boot from cd message should come up the NTLDR is coming up
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64X2 5200+ DUAL CORE
ASUS M2N-E-SLI
256 DDR3 INNO3D 8600GT
2x1GB PQY DDR2 800MHZ
250GB SEAGATE IDE
320GB WESTERN DIGITAL SATAII
19" LG L194WT WS
ANTEC 900 CASE

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4600+ DUAL CORE
GB GA M555-SLI-S4
256 DDR2 ASUS 7600GT
2X 1GB DDR2 667MHZ
400GB SEAGATE SATAII
GENERIC CASE
joey1 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 07:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: NTLDR is missing ???

boot your os cd up and the blue screen will come up instead of recover console it enter and then r to repiar partiation and let it do its thing and its done, it really does work i have done it twice
jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 07:03 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 152
Default Re: NTLDR is missing ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by jay_bo View Post
boot your os cd up and the blue screen will come up instead of recover console it enter and then r to repiar partiation and let it do its thing and its done, it really does work i have done it twice
i dnt understand i cant get it to boot from the cd it doesnt give me that option...or do i have to do this in a operating comp ?
__________________
AMD ATHLON 64X2 5200+ DUAL CORE
ASUS M2N-E-SLI
256 DDR3 INNO3D 8600GT
2x1GB PQY DDR2 800MHZ
250GB SEAGATE IDE
320GB WESTERN DIGITAL SATAII
19" LG L194WT WS
ANTEC 900 CASE

AMD ATHLON 64X2 4600+ DUAL CORE
GB GA M555-SLI-S4
256 DDR2 ASUS 7600GT
2X 1GB DDR2 667MHZ
400GB SEAGATE SATAII
GENERIC CASE
joey1 is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 07:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: NTLDR is missing ???

Oryt have u gone into ur bios, your motherboard setting to make it boot from disc?
jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-14-2007, 07:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: NTLDR is missing ???

have u gone into your motherboard settings (bios) and selected boot from disc
__________________

jay_bo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System32 file missing or corrupt Airbus Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 35 01-27-2008 11:46 PM
HiJack This! P30PL35 HijackThis Logs (finished) 17 07-12-2007 07:58 AM
BOOT MGR is Missing Max Power Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 06-11-2007 08:09 PM
my log Max Power HijackThis Logs (finished) 10 06-07-2007 11:56 PM
Boot Mgr Missing ??? RedTail Microsoft Windows and Software 9 05-01-2007 01:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.