Now BSOD in Vista; Memory test errors - help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2007, 11:18 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default Now BSOD in Vista; Memory test errors - help!

Last night I played Team Fortress 2 for the 1st time and I got the BSOD. Thinking this was a game bug, I restarted but then got it again while loading the game. The third time it blue screened loading steam. Fourth time, just in windows. Uh oh.

I eliminated my CPU over clock (my ram settings were 'auto' on my mobo) and downloaded the Microsoft memory test boot cd and it found errors - every test, every pass failed. uh oh again.

Went to bed, next morning the computer booted fine and I've been using it to post this. Is my RAM borked, could it just have been overheated? Any suggestions?

Here's my specs:
Windows Vista Ultimate, 32-bit
Intel Core 2 Duo e6420
Gigabyte P35-DS3R rev 1, f7 bios
Maxtor 160 gb & WD 250 gb HD
Crucial Ballistix 2x1gb 5-5-5-18
MSI 8600 gt silent
Ultra 500w PSU
__________________

__________________
"To err is human - and to blame it on a computer is even more so." - Robert Orben
bengance is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: Now BSOD in Vista; Memory test errors - help!

If it found errors, I think your ram is bad...If it were me, I wouldn't use the ram if it even found just one error. Maybe you can test 1 stick of ram at a time to see which stick has errors.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Old 10-29-2007, 02:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103
Default Re: Now BSOD in Vista; Memory test errors - help!

This morning the memory test yield zero errors! Last night I had about 600 errors in each stick. It's running fine now...

I can only assume that the board or psu was giving some power/voltage issues, or that the sticks were overheating due to gameplay? Note: the stick's are about 1/4 inch away from the edge of the MSI heatsink on the video card.
__________________
"To err is human - and to blame it on a computer is even more so." - Robert Orben
bengance is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
G.Skill memory problems kar916 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 10-31-2008 07:15 AM
10 Reasons You Don't Need Vista Today Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 47 08-15-2007 05:31 PM
Vista 32 bits with 4gb memory janoloco Microsoft Windows and Software 2 05-21-2007 03:57 PM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.