Nothing on screen when switching power on!!! :(:(:( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2005, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default Nothing on screen when switching power on!!! :(:(:(

Hi guys,

My motherboard is a Asus P4S333/C.

Theres a serious problem with this computer i have. When i switch it on, i can hear the fans running, dvd drives work (ejecting works), everything seems fine. But nothing comes on the screen. I know for certain it's not the monitor or monitor cable because it works fine on my other computer.

When i turn it on, the hard drive light (yellow) and power light (green) both go on and about 15seconds later the harddrive light goes off and it just stays like that. I've taken the CMOS battery out overnight and put it back in in the morning but nothing still comes on screen. I've also tried taking out all the pci cards, changed the ram, even changed the harddrive but still same problem. I don't hear any beeps to indicate any error when switching on the computer. Is it a CPU problem?

Can anyone help? How can i tell if it's a motherboard or CPU problem? Thanks in advance...

Regards,
Brandon.
__________________

BigBum is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 12:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Try to hit F8 upon booting and start in safe mode.If that works then uninstall your video drivers reboot and reinstall your drivers.Make sure you use the right ones...
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 02:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

i get nothing on the screen when i switch the computer on. it's not a graphic card problem. i've even swapped graphic cards and still the same problem.
BigBum is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 04:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

then its probably the BUS that the card is on. by the sounds of it everything else seems to be in order judging by how far it makes it through post. does the board have integrated graphics?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 04:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

nope, the motherboard doesnt have intergrated graphics.

but if it was a graphics related problem, then the harddrive light should keep blinking because it should be loading into windows right? it doesn't do that, it just stop completely after 15seconds or so.

if there is a cpu problem, nothing comes on screen as well right?
BigBum is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:06 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah but normally if its a cpu problem it doesn't do anything else either. i'm still thinking along the lines of some sort of failure to do with gfx. and no a failed gfx card or agp/pci-e bus can stop the pc from booting.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:17 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

ah i see... so its either a motherboard or cpu problem for sure... because i've tested/changed other components.

is there anyway to test if its the cpu or if its the motherboard failing without needing a replacement?
BigBum is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:21 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

well you could try the cpu on another motherboard but that would be rather annoying to swap the heatsink over.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

****... i don't have another motherboard with intel compatibilitys... all AMD's. oh well...

it's deffinately not the gfx card, i've also tested it with one that works.
BigBum is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 05:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

what type of graphics card is it? pci, pci-e or agp?
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.