Not sure what the problem is - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2008, 10:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Not sure what the problem is

I am having a little problem with my rig I built a few months back. I think it may have something to do with the video card but not sure. Let me see if I can explain this. It seems every once in a while when my computer is on for several hours, the display will get all messed up. The taskbar will disappear but when you move the mouse across it will reappear then disappear again once I take the mouse off.

When this happens, I can not open the start menu or any programs. My pc becomes slow when this happens too. It takes forever for it to restart. Sometimes I just hit the restart button on the case. Once it restarts, everything is back to normal.

I don't think it is the temps because right now it has been on for a few hours and the gpu is at 58 degrees and not going up. Is there some kind of test I can do on the video card?

I hope I explained this well enough.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 07-28-2008, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Not sure what the problem is

well it doesn't explain the slowness, but it sounds like the task bar isn't locked to the desktop, go into control panel, g to the taskbar and start menu icon, and lock it, if it is not already done.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 07:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Not sure what the problem is

Now the problem is starting to get more frequent. It has happened twice in one day. This is starting to make me mad because usually it happens when I am in the middle of something and I have to start over.

I don't think the problem has to do with the task bar being locked. I had it locked and it still happened.

Whenever this happens, the taskbar will go up to the top but the start button will stay at the bottom. If I try to open it, it will only stay open for a split second. The whole desktop and whatever I had open will start flashing. I really don't know how to explain this. I have to restart it to get it back to normal.

I have ran scans with AVG 8.0 Internet Security and has found nothing. I would do a format but I am not sure if that will fix the problem.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:08 PM   #4 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Not sure what the problem is

Sounds like your Windows went nuts! The problem really doesn't sound like a virus. The two things I can think of are to get the latest drivers for your video card and try changing the SATA cable on your hard drive. Sometimes the misread data doesn't crash the computer but only distorts the data being transferred instead. I actually just had to change my cable because my file transfers would transfer only a portion of each file from one drive to the next and then XP would crash.

Windows Event Log doesn't say anything after it happens?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Not sure what the problem is

Forgive me but I forgot how to get to the Windows Event Log. My mind just went blank.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:14 PM   #6 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Not sure what the problem is

Control Panel -> Administrative Tools -> Event Viewer. Then look under the system portion.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Not sure what the problem is

Is this for Vista or XP? I am running Vista.

Nevermind, I found it.

Well, in the last hour there are 4 errors, 3 of them are from the source SideBySide and 1 from the Event Log. There are a total of 1,755 errors, Yikes.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:30 PM   #8 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Not sure what the problem is

Yeah there are always a lot of errors don't worry. Windows logs absolutely anything that ever happens to the computer. Too look at what the errors are just right click on one and click properties. It will then tell you unless Windows doesn't know what it is.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Not sure what the problem is

The SideBySide errors have to do with Nero 8 but I don't know if that what caused the problem.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:40 PM   #10 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: Not sure what the problem is

Very unlikely. Wait until the next time it happens and when it does, restart your computer and then go straight to the event viewer. Then check for any errors that occured within the past hour of it screwing up.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem installing software in windows xp pro imagesmith Microsoft Windows and Software 3 02-20-2008 02:46 PM
Serious computer problem. HeeRoMaKi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 71 07-28-2007 11:42 PM
Wireless Problem! dropper Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 07-08-2007 04:58 PM
Dhcp leasing problem Kloppstock Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 12 05-13-2007 07:13 PM
cant find the problem... Jhill1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 05-07-2007 04:51 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.