Not sure if this Fits under this secotion. CPU design. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-13-2014, 09:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
The Residential Loon
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,087
Question Not sure if this Fits under this secotion. CPU design.

I've decided to put this topic of question in this category due to the discussion of the topic and some questions I'm curious about being answered.

Computer Micro Architecture in regards to this topic being of the CPU, is a very complex in the way of Physical design. I'm curious about the software and the CPU Hardware it self being designed as a package. In CPU architecture and\or CPU Design you have at this current stage, Logic Units, Binary arrays (I think), you have DATA Pipe lining, arithmetic Logic Units, Memory Controllers and assembly languages. Thats just for starters.

In regards to the CPU Design I think, an architecture is as the same principal being like a Building architect, the actual make up of the CPU it self. Hence CPU Architecture. I don't understand, many concepts, about CPU architecture, when you buy an Intel or AMD CPU, what are all the added extras you get as to what hardcore techies would look for, such as that list off I think Instruction sets available I think they are for example.

How complex are CPU's for example the most common Intel CPU used in the Desktop as of being this thread. How do CPU's work. I would like someone to explain in basic terms, explain as much as possible with out posting any external Links.

I have always thought of machine code being in Binary, and hexadecimal, and thus being transcended too higher levels of operations, threw various layers, and thus being in Machine Hardware Code would be the likes of, 1's and 0's, 0's and 1's . I'm not knowledgeable about a lot, but if you have a CPU which is operational in regards to a certain brand\type of Architecture, and their are a good few types available, what are the features in common with regards to all CPU architectures for Intel and separately AMD.
__________________

Spud1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 10:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Not sure if this Fits under this secotion. CPU design.

I don't really see a question there?

But if you're wondering more how CPU's work and their architectures... you could look into this book: Computer Organization and Design, Fourth Edition: The Hardware/Software Interface (The Morgan Kaufmann Series in Computer Architecture and Design): David A. Patterson, John L. Hennessy: 9780123744937: Amazon.com: Books
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
The Residential Loon
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Not sure if this Fits under this secotion. CPU design.

I was curious too get feedback on CPU Design and CPU Architecture. I take it CPU Architecture is the Hardware and Software designed as a package from the ground up. So for example, you take an Intel CPU, the actual chip it self will be designed around what? In regards to curiosity about the differences between different CPU's let alone manufactures, how many levels are their in the CPU it self.

How does it work on a broad scale, something simplistic to understand, how can software interact with I think the silicone and\or CPU it self?
Spud1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 07:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: Not sure if this Fits under this secotion. CPU design.

Ah, you're wondering how something goes from just being a bunch of transistors to being a useful, interact-able computer?
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 12:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: Not sure if this Fits under this secotion. CPU design.

To me your use of the word "design" means what it looks like. That's basically been the same for a long time when they went to a socketed PCB chip.

Architecture is a whole different ballpark. Just think of different architectures like an engine. Each one does the same thing, but each one is made slightly differently to achieve different gains. Gonna swap heads for more performance? That could be like adding more cache. Node reduction? That's like going from a V8 to a V6 except more refined to make more or similar power while maintaining better efficiency. Going from AMD to Intel is like going from a 70s Ford V8 to a Mercedes AMG Sorry had to put that joke in there. Actually AMD should use that logo. There is no replacement for displacement

As to actually working well rather simplistic idea of taking pulses of electricity and turning them into binary. Your PC does everything off binary so think of it like morse code for your computer.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 01:07 AM   #6 (permalink)
The Residential Loon
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Not sure if this Fits under this secotion. CPU design.

Please bare with me as I've just woke up, and still pretty tired. I've been busy the last few day even thor I've posted in the OT Section with changing my setup about and adding extras ECT:

Quote:
Ah, you're wondering how something goes from just being a bunch of transistors to being a useful, interact-able computer?
As far as I'm aware a transistor works on Switch Level, by electrical Impulses which would give a On\Off Situation. So if you had a CPU which works on a Binary level in being 1's and 0's and thus Switching back and forwards creating a Basic Level of Binary Code you would have essentially a CPU which was working like Crazy Switching back and forwards.

Quote:
To me your use of the word "design" means what it looks like. That's basically been the same for a long time when they went to a socketed PCB chip.
Quote:
To me your use of the word "design" means what it looks like. That's basically been the same for a long time when they went to a socketed PCB chip.

I wasn't sure what I meant by design I just know that by Designing a CPU you have to build it up as a Package, hence I remember reading a Story when the First unlocked Intel Chips come on the Market, in the way of overclocking them.

Quote:
Gonna swap heads for more performance? That could be like adding more cache. Node reduction? That's like going from a V8 to a V6 except more refined to make more or similar power while maintaining better efficiency. Going from AMD to Intel is like going from a 70s Ford V8 to a Mercedes AMG
So pretty much what you get is what you pay for, it you want the Biggest Baddest Chip on the Market, You'll pay more for CPU Performance, Speed, Cach, ECT: , The main benifitys of a CPU. I think and I'm looking for clarification on this, if you have Different Code names such as Bulldozer, what you'll be getting is a Chip which is supporting different needs of the end user as opposed to say Ivrybridge.

Quote:
As to actually working well rather simplistic idea of taking pulses of electricity and turning them into binary. Your PC does everything off binary so think of it like Morse code for your computer.
Those Morse Codes, or Morse Code in the PC must be pretty complex as for example if you have a CPU which is working on Pulses and Creating Binary 1's and 0's from Raw Electricity. You build that up threw layers up to Various levels of say, Cach, Binary Arrays, Data Pipe Lining and Logic units. I say thees as its all I know of the CPU it self but their will be a lot more to it than that. You essentially have a Physical Chip which works on Pulses of electricity transcending threw levels\areas of Code which are able to produce at the end result the pixels on my Computer screen. Yes in accordance with the GPU but you have a Processor that is capable of creating a Multiverse of situations with regards to a chip with a built in GPU such as Intel.

I think AMD now build their PCIe Controller Set on the motherboard, were as Intel have it built in to the Physical Design and architecture of the Chip.

If you have a CPU that can process a Image with in the Physical Chip it self with regards to whatever architecture it is, the Built in GPU unit, and I'm looking for clarification on this, would work along side all the various parts of the Architecture in the CPU to output that Image on the Monitor threw the Motherboard.
Spud1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 01:22 AM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Not sure if this Fits under this secotion. CPU design.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spud1200 View Post
Those Morse Codes, or Morse Code in the PC must be pretty complex as for example if you have a CPU which is working on Pulses and Creating Binary 1's and 0's from Raw Electricity. You build that up threw layers up to Various levels of say, Cach, Binary Arrays, Data Pipe Lining and Logic units. I say thees as its all I know of the CPU it self but their will be a lot more to it than that. You essentially have a Physical Chip which works on Pulses of electricity transcending threw levels\areas of Code which are able to produce at the end result the pixels on my Computer screen. Yes in accordance with the GPU but you have a Processor that is capable of creating a Multiverse of situations with regards to a chip with a built in GPU such as Intel.
The most basic form of how a CPU works:

The binary is converted to instructions through the instruction decoder. The ID then stores values in registers and then passed into an ALU (Arithmetic Logic Unit); it then either stores it in memory or passes it along the BUS back into other registers to perform other operations. I made a basic CPU in one of my courses in college through logic/code...was a PITA.

Below is a simple block diagram of what a simple CPU does:
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...ck_diagram.png

And a more advanced CPUL:
http://www.eng.utah.edu/~cs3810/Home...work07/cpu.jpg
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2014, 03:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
The Residential Loon
 
Spud1200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: England, UK
Posts: 2,087
Default Re: Not sure if this Fits under this secotion. CPU design.

To be honest it sounds really Complex and the second diagram I dint follow at all, the simple was Easy too understand but I think I have the Basics down and on that not I'll leave it at that. .. ..
__________________

Spud1200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
amd, architecture, cpu, intel, proessor

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you think the motherboard fits with the CPU COOLER? TheUninvited Overclocking and Modding 3 09-17-2013 08:55 AM
Idk if this fits here.. Howlz Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 01-12-2007 10:46 PM
Downloaded : Windows Codename "Longhorn". HELP If it fits me!!!! little_emmynem Microsoft Windows and Software 10 08-13-2006 01:29 PM
Help me understanding if ram fits my motherboard? yexusbeliever Overclocking and Modding 2 11-17-2004 02:56 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.