Not much a problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2012, 10:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Not much a problem


I've been debating an upgrade to my PC for awhile, but with the recommended specs for most games I think i should expect more from my current build, however games like mass effect have partial frame lag and my FPS isnt fantastic on some mmos, quite bad on the new star wars mmo.

CPU: AMD 6000, dual core clocked at 3ghz.
RAM: 4 gig OCz reaper series, DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500)
Graphics card: HIS HD 6950 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
Windows 7

I have another few sticks of RAM i can shove in there but im doubting it'll improve performance too much, or maybe the machine just needs a good wipe as it hasnt had a good reinstall for years.

Any suggestions would be welcome, i dont think the build is actually too bad.


Sheepykins is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 10:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,952
Default Re: Not much a problem

What mobo are you running? If it is capable of running an AM3 quad then that would be the way to go.


Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 03-03-2012, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Worcestershire, England
Posts: 556
Send a message via MSN to Sheepykins
Default Re: Not much a problem

MSI k9 neo V3, socket AM2 which as far as i know, only supports athlon 64 X2, athlon 64 and Semprons
Sheepykins is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Toshiba Satellite A205-S5804 Power problem issue anyone had this problem? Jouzo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 08-28-2011 08:58 PM
help! ls usb mix 123 problem :S someone help please :S digital light problem. BIGGAMER Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-31-2011 06:45 PM
Problem with ASUS Modem Router, ADSL Cable problem GRANTA Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 6 04-06-2010 04:45 AM
windowns reinstall-video card problem-ram problem fidelitycrisis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-02-2006 04:25 PM
Problem loading on dark age of camelot...maybe a ram problem? LightingBird PC Gaming 0 03-08-2005 10:49 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:11 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.