not exactly sure - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-02-2006, 01:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to bozzobrain Send a message via Yahoo to bozzobrain
Default not exactly sure

this is a pretty broad quesiton but recently i moved my computer into my basement and at the same time purchased some games and started to play them now for no reason that i can see my computer after running for a while just acts like i pushed the restart button it freaks out and starts restarting over and over i shut it off and turn it on and its fine but then shuts down again after a while can someone help

bozzobrain is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 02:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349

Do you have a stable power outlet in your Basement? if your comp is getting realy dirty power form the outlet, i assume that may cause your issue.

and it doesnt sound like it... but viruses could make your computer go into an infinate restart loop. but it doenst realy sound like thats your prob.

if your not shur... perhaps you should move your comp back upstares and run it for a while off a diferent power outlet and see if it has the same prob.

jolancer is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 03:05 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to bozzobrain Send a message via Yahoo to bozzobrain

thanks didnt think about that some home routed power plugs probably arent a good idea thanks agina
bozzobrain is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 07:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533

i doubt thats the case , random restarts are usally caused by bad driver/hardware , by default settings windows is set to restart on a bsod and bsod logs are saved to c:\windows\minidump rar/zip all files in it and upload to provide the link and ill analyze the most recent logs and tell you whats the troublemaker
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-02-2006, 08:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon

Do you know what kind of temperatures the components are reaching?? Could possible be a heat issue... but that wouldn't really explain the restart-loop.
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 07:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to bozzobrain Send a message via Yahoo to bozzobrain

i think i figured it out the psu i was using had connections that were loose and i also removed the cold cathode and no more problems a little akward but idk works
bozzobrain is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 08:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
bonehelm's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 612

don't put your pc's tower against a wall, at least leave some space for the hot air to spread out so it wont overheat

and make sure theres no spyware, virus in your computer

also if u turn off the pc's main power and unplug EVERYTHING u can open the case and clean the dust from inside so it wont overheat

usually when people's pc restart its either overheating or spyware messing your system up.
PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo E6420 Conroe 2.13ghz
Gigabyte P35-S3 Motherboard
A-DATA 2x1GB DDR2 800mhz memory
Geforce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI-Express
bonehelm is offline  
Old 04-10-2006, 09:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to bozzobrain Send a message via Yahoo to bozzobrain

well just for kicks what are some of the best anti spyware programs

bozzobrain is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.