Not booting my new machine - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-13-2006, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Unhappy Not booting my new machine

Hey all!

I've recently custom built myself a computer.

On completion of the build I connected everything, double checked everything was okay and powered it up.

The problem: Nothing happened, the power came on, the fans came on, the lights lit up, the DVD drive made a noise and all the cards appeared to be working okay.

BUT nothing appears on the monitor (which I have tested and is working). The only thing that appears is the No Signal message.

I have checked the RAM and changed the modules around but to no avail.

From what I've read I have seen that the PSU is a big culprit of cold boots but I'm really no expert and I'd like someone's advice.

The specs are:
AMD Athlon X2 4200+
DFI LanParty n4 Motherboard
1GB PC3200 RAM
GeForce 7900GT 256mb
Maxtor SATA 300GB
DVD-RW
PSU 230V (420W OUTPUT)

Thanks in advance, your help is much much appreciated!
__________________

Hinks is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 02:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 145
Default

if you have another video card try that they usually suggest stripping down to the bare minimum and instal one componet at a time to try to find the culprit?
sorry cant help more
tom
__________________

__________________
asus a8n sli premium
amd 64 venice 3800 2.4
xfx 6800gt
wd 80gb
2 512 cosair value ram
19in hw191d widescreen lcd
tomc102968 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 03:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default

I agree with tomc, sounds like the video card either isn't working or maybe not seated properly. Obviously the cables are good since you can connect the monitor to another pc and it works. Reseat the video card and see what happens.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 03:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

there might of been a short circuit when u were building ur PC but this happens rarely when u dont ground urself before touching anything

check this;
1. pull out CMOS battery for couple minutes, then place it back in
2. if that doesnt work unplug everything lik HD, IDE drives, floppy,etc (keep the CPU,PS, and video card in) if theres a onboard video card use that
3. check if the heatsink has thermal past and also see if its touching the CPU ( i once kicked my old computer so hard that the heatsink fell off the mobo and the PC didnt POST )
4. Im guessing this is a AM2, or 939,or 940 mobo if so check under the PS if it has 15a or more under the +12v range . also check if the 4 pin 12v plug is pluged in (if it has one on the mobo)
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 06:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Hey Guys!

Thanks for your responses. Where to begin!!

Unfortunately I don't have another video card but we've been going by the diagnostic lights on the motherboard to see if the computer is operating correctly. When the computer is switched on the four RED LED lights come on and stay on. According to the manual this basically means that it can't find the CPU.

Now, I've reseated the CPU, and still it doesn't work. I've had a look for the thermal paste and it's there on the processor and heatsink. I took the CMOS battery out and put it back in and I also made sure the 12v connector was in but...no nothing worked!

I've also run through all the hardware in the machine but alas I cannot find the culprit and the four red lights still stay lit

Unfortunately I don't have a spare graphics card to test it as my old one was AGP and this motherboard only has PCI slots...so as far as that is concerned I don't know what to do.

But when the graphics card is not in the machine, the diagnostic lights still stay the same.

My processor socket is socket 939.
Hinks is offline  
Old 09-13-2006, 11:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 56
Default

Okay, 420W PSU is under the requirements of a 7900 card. Try a higher wattage, like a 500W PSU, or 550.
__________________

__________________
The rigs:
1- ASUS P4S800D-X / INTEL PENTIUM 4 3000MHZ HT FSB800 / 1GB DDR RAM KINGSTON VALUERAM DUAL CHANNEL / AOPEN AEOLUS GEFORCE FX 5200 128MB/ 160GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9 ATA-133 / 10.2GB FUJITSU ATA-66
2-PC CHIPS M825G V9.2C / AMD ATHLON DDR 1333MHZ (2666 EFFECTIVE) / 1GB DDR 400 AT 333 (DUE TO ONE DDR 333 STICK / NVIDIA GEFORCE 4 MX 4000 / 120GB MAXTOR DIAMOND MAX 9 / 60GB MAXTOR DIAMONDMAX 9
3-Dell Optiplex G1 / Intel Pentium II 400 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / Some onboard crap 2MB card
4- ABIT BH6 / Intel Celeron 366 / 128MB RAM / 2GB Quantum HDD / 8MB ATI Rage 3D Pro
5-Intel SE440BX / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 40GB Maxtor HDD / Matrox MGA Millenium G200 8MB
6- IBM Machine E5U / Intel Pentium II 350 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 3.2GB IBM HDD / 2.1GB Quantum Bigfoot HDD / ATI Rage IIC 4MB (BIOS says Mach 64)
7- Intel SEA440LX / Intel Celeron 333 / 128MB RAM PC-100 / 4.2GB WD HDD / 4MB ATI Rage IIC
8- Intel AN430TX / Pentium MMX 200 / 96MB RAM PC-100 / 850MB WD / 524MB Seagate / ATI <ach 64 2MB
lhuser is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.