not again..... =( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2005, 04:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default not again..... =(

Alright, this is the second time this has happened. Let me explain what happened the first time:

I was playing a game, and out of nowhere, the computer just shut off. It bawouldnt start ck up. No lights, , deno fansad. I tinkered with it for a while, wtih absolutely no luck. I took the power supply out, and plugged it into comp(my brothers which I also build), and found that one of the power supplies fans is dead. So, it would be safe to assume that the power supply just overheated, and thats it. I bought a new power supply, and ran it, with no luck. The computer would not boot or even power up. I got the green LED on my motherboard, so it was recieving power. I assumed that another part must have been fried/overheated(CPU). So I took it to my best friends house, and we plyed around with it, only to find that removing and replacing parts was the only way to get it up. It started back up, and worked fine.
So, I took it back to my house. A week later, my friend came over for lan party, and the same thing that happnened to my computer, happened to his(except his power supply didnt die). So, it must ahve been the voltage from the house, or just my surge protector. So, I went to store, and bought a surge protector with 5 min backup battery. Eventually, by doing the same thing we did on my computer, we got his computer up and running again. =)

I moved from that house about 2 months ago, and about 2 weeks ago, my sound card died. I figured, it just got old, an yea...
So i moved on, used my usb sound card. =(
But today, I brought my computer over to my friends house again, in order to run from hurricane rita. I plugged it in, and it wouldnt start up. I tested the power cord, and the wall sockets in the house. As far as I can tell, my computer just fried another power supply. And here's the question of the day....
WHY ?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!
That damn power supply was brand new. So was my sound card. Friggen 200 dollar sound card.... 150 dollar power supply. Thank god I have a warranty for about 2.5 more weeks on that power supply....

I cant afford to keep buying power supplies, and sound cards and stuff.... Someone has to know what is wrong. Maybe a short somewhere or something. And I'm not going to take my computer to a tech support guy, just to hear him say, sorry, you gotta buy a new one.(Which I almost did... almost had to pay 80 bucks to hear the techs at best buy say that.) There is a solution, and someone must have been through this.

Any help is GREATLY appreciated. Ill keep checking this thread, but until then, im just gonna tinker with it, with my friend.
Thanks in advance,
Yuri
__________________

dcyuri7 is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 04:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Buy a new motherboard.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 04:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

*sigh*
dcyuri7 is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 04:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Good luck with Rita. I hope your house doesnt get destroyed. Let us know k?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 05:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Yea, I will. Right now, I might as well have left my comp there with my house. lol
grah! Rita can ahve it!

I'll be just fine though. By the time it disperses after hitting the coast and gets to me, the worst thing that could happen is a flood. But in S.A.. dont think it will happen. It's up there northern texas thats gonna get all the bad stuff(tornadoes).

Anyway, thanks for concern and help on pc. =)
dcyuri7 is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 05:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

I would check out the Memory before you go off to the mobo store. get a friend to dowload memtest and test that memory for 24 hours and see what happens. Then go buy a new mobo if the memory sticks are good. hard to imagine it could be anything ither than memory or mobo.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 05:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Well, it has killed two psu's, and possibly one sound card.(By possibly, i mean that I havent really diagnosed the problem yet. It just suddenly, stopped working. OWell, thats another issue entirely) I'll pop my RAM into my friends comp real fast, and see if I cant figure something out.
Last time it did this, well for one I had a working power supply, all we had to do was put my processor in his comp, and allow it to boot his O/S. Then, switch em abck out, and booom. It worked again.

Idunno... after all of this, a motherboard does sound like a possible reason for this to happen. I mean, what else could kill two power supplies, and a sound card? (lol... i guess it actually could be... anything. as long as it has a short in it, and it in some way interacts with another component...)
dcyuri7 is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 05:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

Oh yea, Im not getting the Motherboard LED light, so I know for a fact that I need to go digging in my closet for that power supply receipt with the waranty on it...
dcyuri7 is offline  
Old 09-22-2005, 05:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
Default

^not ram... its perfect.
__________________

dcyuri7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.