Northbridge overheating issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-09-2006, 05:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Default Northbridge overheating issues

Was wandering what temps you guys have with your northbridge as mine is reaching 60C on my x2 3800 just listening to music!!!
With my zalman9500 it started off at 55c idle and climbing, and with my stock hsf it would be at 45C, but now both reach to high for my taste.
They both seem to be attached correctly only problem i could see is i did mix a little of zalman compound with compound from stock hsf, but even if that was the case when i first installed the zalman with only its paste it still hit 60c.
My cpu temps seem fine though at idle would be 28-30C with zalman and ~33 with stock hsf.
I did bend a few pins then manage to bend them back to be able to get it into the socket, could that be a problem ??
Would love some input, thanks.
__________________

tripp1n is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 05:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

does your nortbridge heatsink have a fan attached to it ?? if not you could install one, or if it does your best option is getting a better one
__________________

__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

I am confused here

Your northbridge temp has nothing to do with your cpu HS/F Its a seperate chip on the board. Does the northbridge have just a heatsink or is there a fan as well.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 05:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Default

oh sorry i could of swore northbridge was related to my cpu!! If it isnt why were my temps different when i would use the stock hsf or the zalman.
Well im running a dfi lanparty nf4, so whatever stock heatsink it came with is what im using. If so would it be the little fan thats on the motherboard itself below the graphics card thats reporting this degress??
tripp1n is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 7
Default

ok lmao northbridge refers to the motherboard then?
i think ifound problem there was a twisty stuck in the motherboards fan i took it out booted up and am at 44C idle now, was that it??
Could any problems arise from a cpu that had kinda bent pins but still latched in correctly that will rise the temps??
tripp1n is offline  
Old 08-09-2006, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

You got it,, that's it. The northbridge refer's to the northbridge chipset and on your board there is a little hsf on it to keep it cool.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.