Northbridge Heat sync - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2007, 07:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default Northbridge Heat sync

I recently received my MSI X2 crossfire mobo, but when I unpacked it I noticed that the northbridge heat sync was lift a bit from the chip. The thermal paste had clearly broken from its solid layer. I pushed the heat sync back down in its original position, but i couldn't help but wonder if I needed to take the heat sync off, clean it, and put some new thermal paste on it, or if that was even necessary. Anyone have an idea of what I should do in this case?
-Thanks,

::-Chase-::
__________________

Chase is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 10:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default

RMA?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 10:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

I say just clean and reapply thermal paste there.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 07:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Hiphopapotamus.
 
b0dge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557
Default

Yeah, clean it, reapply thermal paste, whack it back on. No point waiting around for a replacement board just for a minor detail...
__________________
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 08:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

if the heatsink was held down by springs thermal paste will do,, but if it was weld down by a metal wire or soemthing like that you will probably need thermal tape to be completely safe
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 04:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
CECS Major
 
Chase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default

thanks guys, I cleaned everything up with some alcohol and reapplied spring held heatsync with some arctic silver! Thanks again,

::-Chase-::
__________________

Chase is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.