Northbridge Heat sync - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-08-2007, 06:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
CECS Major
Chase's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase
Default Northbridge Heat sync

I recently received my MSI X2 crossfire mobo, but when I unpacked it I noticed that the northbridge heat sync was lift a bit from the chip. The thermal paste had clearly broken from its solid layer. I pushed the heat sync back down in its original position, but i couldn't help but wonder if I needed to take the heat sync off, clean it, and put some new thermal paste on it, or if that was even necessary. Anyone have an idea of what I should do in this case?


Chase is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
peterhuang913's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913



My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 02-08-2007, 09:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk

I say just clean and reapply thermal paste there.
Deathawk is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 06:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
b0dge's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Location: Posts: 61,784
Posts: 557

Yeah, clean it, reapply thermal paste, whack it back on. No point waiting around for a replacement board just for a minor detail...
Don't ask questions, just click my rep tick. Now.
b0dge is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 07:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351

if the heatsink was held down by springs thermal paste will do,, but if it was weld down by a metal wire or soemthing like that you will probably need thermal tape to be completely safe
E6300 Core 2 Duo
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 02-09-2007, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
CECS Major
Chase's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 387
Send a message via MSN to Chase Send a message via Yahoo to Chase

thanks guys, I cleaned everything up with some alcohol and reapplied spring held heatsync with some arctic silver! Thanks again,


Chase is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.