non-system disk or disk error replace and strike any key when ready - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-03-2005, 02:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default non-system disk or disk error replace and strike any key when ready

I have a pentium 1 compaq armada laptop, the "non-system disk or disk error replace and strike any key when ready" i dont know what to do, ive read all the possible explinations for this error and it appears it is one of the more complicated ones. The laptop has a cd drive and i tried booting it with a boot disc but the same message would appear can someone help me out?

Thanks,
GabOr
__________________

GabOr is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 03:37 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

do you have a floppy in the drive?
__________________

joshd is offline  
Old 09-03-2005, 06:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

if there is no floppy, try going into the BIOS and changing the boot order
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 09-04-2005, 08:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

The laptop does not have a floppy only a cd drive I changed the boot order to preety much every possible combination but the results were the same it still doesnt recognize the windows 98 cd I put in it does anyone else have any other ideas that can help me?

Thanks,
GabOr
GabOr is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 05:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

this error can occur from a corrupted FAT on a windows volume as well i think. or at least thats what i gather from a similar experience. my solution was a clean install of windows using third-party software to format.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 06:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
HDR
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Are you after the data at all? If so, do not format the drive.
HDR is offline  
Old 09-05-2005, 08:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I dont care about the data I was initially trying to format it anyway, but how do I format it from its current state if it doesnt read any of my discs?
__________________

GabOr is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.