Non accessible HDD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2007, 06:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Question Non accessible HDD

I have had to do a win XP reinstall, and cannot understand why my slave HDD cannot be seen in My Computer, but can be seen in Device Manager, and states that it is working successfully....pls help...
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 06:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Non accessible HDD

You need to format it in the device manager.
__________________

turtile is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 06:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default Re: Non accessible HDD

thanks turtile, are you sure?
It was formatted upon original installation.
Device manager doesn't give me the option to format?!?!
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 07:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Non accessible HDD

right click the drive and hit format.
__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 07:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default Re: Non accessible HDD

The drive HAS BEEN formatted, I have used for about a year and is full of data that i require on it.
AND as I said "format" is not on the menu when right clicked on in device manager.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 10:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default Re: Non accessible HDD

I thought that you just installed it and couldn't see it in my computer.

Don't format it. I would try reinstalling the drivers for it.
turtile is offline  
Old 10-21-2007, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
SirCyber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: In a yellow Submarine
Posts: 1,113
Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber
Default Re: Non accessible HDD

that'd be what I'd do before trying to back it up. if that doesn't work, try to slave it to another system, recover and back up your data on that one, then format and take that data back off and put it onto your newly formatted disk
__________________
EVGA X58 Classified, EVGA GTX 275 CO-OP Edition, Intel Core i7 230@2.68GHz, 1080W Enermax Evolution, 6GB G-Skill DDR3@8-8-8-19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mak213
Knowledge is power. Power is nothing if it is not shared.
SirCyber is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 02:57 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default Re: Non accessible HDD

Tried driver update with no luck, and re-format isn't an option, as I have no other system or HDD to store ~300Gb of data, please help.....I don't believe that it needs to be re-formatted......
__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 03:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: pune,maharashtra,india
Posts: 2
Default Re: Non accessible HDD

pls help!!! i have an 80gb harddisk, which is not functioning well, i have two drives in it c: is working fine but when i try to open d: it hangs for a moment and then a msg appears " do you want to format now?" i cannot think of formatting, what to do i dont have any backup as most of the important material is on d: drive... pls help!!!
only_m8 is offline  
Old 10-22-2007, 02:41 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 261
Default Re: Non accessible HDD

My cure was as follows:
Right click My Computer, select Manage. Then double click Disk Management. Right click on the bold print where it says Disk 0 or Disk 1 or whatever. I then selected "import foreign disk", problem solved.

only_m8: u should be starting ur own thread, but what i suggest is search for a recovery method/disk there a lots of solutions in this forum, although I could find or wait for such. Otherwise, like me, get another HDD and install OS on, then attach older HDD via USB or slave and it should be accessible to get data from.
__________________

__________________
AMD Phenom II X4 965, Mobo: Biostar A880G+ c/w onboard Graphics & Sound, RAM: 8Gb DDR2, HDDs 2+2+4Tb, Monitor 24"
Using: Win10 64bit with Trend Micro TMS
smurph is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD configuration with Windows XP- an odd question Kisskerven New Systems | Building and Buying 6 10-20-2007 08:56 PM
External HDD stopped working...need help urgently!!! krazyq Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 10-13-2007 01:18 PM
Help installing an HDD aetherh4cker System Upgrades 1 10-12-2007 06:19 PM
HDD crash leo572 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-30-2007 10:35 PM
External HDD Question Riznarf Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 09-20-2007 11:07 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.