No video signal - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-05-2005, 12:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to samuraiwarrior
Question No video signal

Hey guyz,
i recently booted up my computer and everything whirled and ran normal except i wasnt getting a video signal! o now i need your help. is it the my motherboard is fried or just my video card.
everything seems fine and the HDD activity light flashes up like a norml boot.
the post test card the cam with motherboard doesnt work. but it doesnt use the pci slot. its one special for my MSI board. PLz help me . i have warrenties on all parts but not sure if its video card or motherboad

P.S couldnt be montor even tries connecting vid cars to tv via s-cable and still no signal.

HELP

IM NOTHIUNG WITHOUT MY BABY.
__________________

samuraiwarrior is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Do your hear any beeps from internal speaker.

Clear CMOS and check video card for any blown or burnt capacitors or circuits, then reseat video card.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 12:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "It's easy to love me nouuuw. Would you love me if i was dowwwn. Aan ouut...."

Dose your mBoard have internal video? What slot dose your video card use?

Sometimes you need one vid card to set up another. One time i had to go into my bios settings and set the video output to SuperVGA before i was even able to use the card.
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 03:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to samuraiwarrior
Default No

I dont have on-board video and it wowuldnt help to reset my cmos. i have a EVGA Nvidia 6600GT using the PCI Express 16X
very nice card. but heres what i think might have happened.

For a while now I've had a problem with my PC starting itself up after I shut it down. I wasnt able to find out why, throught scanning applications. So i start switching off the switch of PSU, AspireTurbo 520W. There has always been a 4sec delay in when i switch off the PSU then all the power is off. So this time when i shut off computer regually through windows (like allway) it came on, by it-self, and then the 4secs was up and the PSU shut off, during the bootup. I'm guessing that the sudden power supply shut off during the boot up process caused something the get damaged. Since now i have no video. but wouldnt the motherboard fry before the video card, since it was a power shut off?

im so loss i cant seem to do anything correct recently. I cant even get my side panel door of the case back on~!
and theres nothing blocking the tracks that the door goes into. I such a looser!:amazed:
samuraiwarrior is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 04:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Try the video card in a different computer or try a different video card in that computer.

At any rate.

I would first disconnect everything but, CPU, RAM and Video card then try rebooting.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 05:15 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Question ".......LOL!!!...."

Quote:
Originally posted by samuraiwarrior
I dont have on-board video and it wowuldnt help to reset my cmos. i have a EVGA Nvidia 6600GT using the PCI Express 16X
very nice card. but heres what i think might have happened.

For a while now I've had a problem with my PC starting itself up after I shut it down. I wasnt able to find out why, throught scanning applications. So i start switching off the switch of PSU, AspireTurbo 520W. There has always been a 4sec delay in when i switch off the PSU then all the power is off. So this time when i shut off computer regually through windows (like allway) it came on, by it-self, and then the 4secs was up and the PSU shut off, during the bootup. I'm guessing that the sudden power supply shut off during the boot up process caused something the get damaged. Since now i have no video. but wouldnt the motherboard fry before the video card, since it was a power shut off?

im so loss i cant seem to do anything correct recently. I cant even get my side panel door of the case back on~!
and theres nothing blocking the tracks that the door goes into. I such a looser!:amazed:
.... .................. I know this might not be vary helpful, but i think what you have here is what is known as a PIECE OF SH!T!

Since you can't pinpoint what piece of hardware is conflicting your card, (Or your whole system) i can't reccomend anything spacific you should get for it.

You should do the following:

1. Keep the vid card,
2. Sell the computer!
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 12-05-2005, 05:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Red face "LOL..."

It would help if you had another system to expariment with. It could also mean your PSU's voltage is too high, or that something is draining from the CPU. (E.G: a hair, a loose screw, ect...)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.