No video but sounds like its running fine - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2007, 09:03 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: No video but sounds like its running fine

wtf!!!! It seemed fine so I closed the case up and let it run for a while. I walk away and come back and it had crashed and was on a black screen that said BIOS ROM CHECKSUM ERROR and was prompting for a disk. I tried to reboot and now it's back to not working.
__________________

Tadow is offline  
Old 05-29-2007, 11:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: No video but sounds like its running fine

hmm. get a new cmos battery.

reflash bios

uhh...get new motherboard?
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 05-30-2007, 02:36 PM   #13 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: No video but sounds like its running fine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tadow View Post
wtf!!!! It seemed fine so I closed the case up and let it run for a while. I walk away and come back and it had crashed and was on a black screen that said BIOS ROM CHECKSUM ERROR and was prompting for a disk. I tried to reboot and now it's back to not working.
Back to the same situation where it was beeping continuously? Or a single beep but no visual? With continuously beep, try replacing that PSU. With no visual, revert back to on board video card. You probably do have a bad AGP video card.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 04:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: No video but sounds like its running fine

I'm pretty sure the mobo is focked. I hope the video cards ok though, I plan on getting another mobo that works with that cpu for free and I'm gonna go ahead and get another power supply for it just to be safe (it's old as ****). I'll just make that my wife's comp and I've put together another one on newegg that will be good and upgradeable for less than $700
Tadow is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 06:27 PM   #15 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: No video but sounds like its running fine

cool, what are the parts you are gonna get?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 06-01-2007, 02:30 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Tadow's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 124
Default Re: No video but sounds like its running fine

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmxfreakrider View Post
cool, what are the parts you are gonna get?
Here's what I'm looking at right now

Update COOLER MASTER RC-330-KKN1-GP Black SECC ATX Mid Tower
$39.99 $39.99

Update ASUS M2N-SLI Deluxe Socket AM2 NVIDIA nForce 570 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard -
$144.99 $144.99

Update BFG Tech BFGE86256GTOCE GeForce 8600GT 256MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 Video Card - Retail
$169.99 $169.99

Update APEVIA ATX-CW500WP4 ATX 500W Power Supply - Retail
$39.99 $39.99

Update AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Windsor 2.4GHz Socket AM2 Processor $118.00 $118.00

Update WINTEC AMPX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model 3AXT6400C5-2048K - Retail
$125.99 -$40.00 Instant $85.99

Subtotal: $598.95


I also need to get a hard drive but I could also just use a 120g that I have in my old comp that I could take out since that comp won't be used as much anymore. I should also probably get a new monitor my 19" LCD died on me so I'm currently using the 15.

So what do you think? Feel free to shoot it down
__________________

Tadow is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fine Arts vs. Applied Science Gigabite Technology Careers and Education 1 05-25-2007 04:06 PM
Video Capture Card(s) *Need One* Bondy Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 05-17-2007 05:08 PM
damaged video card sb14blue Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-13-2007 03:13 AM
Problems with Video Lag Phate Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-08-2007 06:21 PM
New Video Card Dieo New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-02-2007 11:27 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.